We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful English guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcantara Guest House
Ranked #7 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delightful English guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spend two nights in Southampton on business at this lovely guest house. AJ and her staff are very friendly and efficient. My room with private bath was big and comfortable. Everything was super clean and the bed was excellent. I had a room that looked out to the street, but the guest house is set back (to allow free parking) and was very quiet both nights. I enjoyed the full "English breakfast" one morning - a great way to start the day. The only drawback is that it is a decent walk to town or the university so I took a cab most of the time. I would definitely recommend Alcantara Guest House and will stay here again when I return to Southampton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
23
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner was recently staying here for work and I travelled up to spend the night there and can honestly say I have never been anywhere where the staff are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very clean, cosy and warm. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. If I visit Southampton again I will definately come here. Brilliant B&B. The lady who greeted me in the morning (short hair dont know her name!) was so absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed a Saturday night in March as it was a convenient location for stopping over after a nearby Retirement Party.
We were impressed from the outset being greeted by name, shown to our room and we accepted the offer of a pot of tea or coffee. This was in addition to the well stocked hospitality tray which, as per other reviews, also included bottled water. Whilst admiring our seemingly freshly decorated/newly carpeted room we were presented in homely fashion with a tray with a pot of tea, cakes and chocolates. Very impressive! The king sized bed was also a bonus.
In the morning, after a choice of cereal/fruit we chose the full English Breakfast which was freshly cooked and of excellent standard.
Prior to booking, after spending an hour checking out a number of guest houses in the area on the web, I'm delighted to say I think we chose the right one and if I ever need to every stay in the area again, I would immediately return to the Alcantara Guest House.

Room Tip: We chose Room 1, immediately right on the ground floor which offered the larger bed and offered the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIG_AL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights in November prior to a cruise and were delighted. The inn is a 10-15 walk from the central train station and is within walking distance of the downtown area. The host welcomed us with a pot of tea and some cakes and that set the tone for our visit. The room was comfortable and the insuite amenities were welcomed. There was even an in-room tea service with cookies. Breakfasts were made to order and delicious. The inn sources their food from local and organic farmers/suppliers and the black pudding was the best I've had in the UK. We are trying to think of an excuse to get back to Southampton so we can stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the ground floor rooms for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on 10th November. Room was clean and comfy, Bottled water provided as well as tea, coffee and biscuits in room, an added bonus. Breakfast was lovely, all cooked fresh to order and the staff were so welcoming and friendly. A bit out of the way for the centre of town but didnt bother us as we like to walk, No problem with parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie5264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently stayed for a third time at Alcantara and as usual the service and hospitality first class and the price very reasonable. As an Australian, a long way from home in Melbourne, I appreciated the friendly staff who made me feel very much at home in Southampton. The rooms I have stayed in were all comfortable, clean and quiet and the full English Breakfast is the best that I have had anywhere. Parking is ok too. I commend this guest house without any reservation whatsoever. I think 'AJ' and her staff fully deserve the praise I read in all the other comments for their service and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinmulvihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

pulled up im mi van. As Ive a big van there's a space reserved at the front of the guest house. Brill start. Rang the bell to be welcomed by a friendly host who made me feel very welcome. Room was spot on, Good shower with plenty of power. Breakfast, 10 out of 10 cant fault it, recomend to one and all.

Room Tip: If they are all like mine was, then any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#8 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayfair Guest House
The Mayfair Guest House
#1 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcantara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantara Guest House

Property: Alcantara Guest House
Address: 20 Howard Road, Southampton SO15 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcantara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alcantara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing