We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Thai restaurant”

Kuti's Royal Thai Pier
Reserve with OpenTable
Kuti's Royal Thai Pier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kuti's Royal Pier Thai must be the most attractive restaurant in Southampton.Originally the old Royal Pier Frontage, the building has been sympathetically renovated to a grand auditorium and has a lovely atmosphere.Upstairs the view across the Solent can be quite breathtaking and romantic.Downstairs the spacious area makes it ideal for special occasions.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Thai restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went with a party of eight people for a retirement dinner. Ate in the A La Carte restaurant and enjoyed really good Thai food, some of the best I've had in the UK, where it can often be disappointing. Service was very good, attentive but not overly so. The restaurant decor is smart particularly if you like purple! Good value too considering the quality of what's on offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    187
    92
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for Saturday evening in March. We were greeted straightaway and given the choice of a buffet or a la carte. We chose a la carte and this did not disappoint! The service was fantastic, they seemed to know just the right time to come over and take our order and collect the empty plates afterwards. The food was beautiful with good sized portions. We began with the starter to share and I chose the red thai curry and my partner had the duck and shared a rice, which was just the right amount for us.
My only compliant would that the parking is very limited. We parked outside the restaurant at 7pm however there were signs about clamping for non permit holders so we were a bit worried until we mentioned it to the staff and they reassured us. Overall definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kuti's King of Thailand”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lunch on a cold blustery Southamton day at this splendid old Pier building acquired a few years ago by Indian/Thai Restraunters KUTI's. We were seated in the first floor comfortably warm, conservatory overlooking a chill and choppy Solent.
My wife (a vegetarian) and I chose Draft Cobra and a a dry white house wine as drinks, and meals from the Set Lunchtime Menu. Delightful starters and delecious main courses ended with a shared deep fried banana and icecream desert.
Wholly a sheer tasty delight, protected from but overlooking our lovely Solent.
The staff gave excellent service.
In times of economic stress and in this chill North Westerly blast, a lovely treat.
Recommended.
all for less than £30.00
We have been before and will go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just had a wonderful evening with 10 family members celebrating my 'big' birthday! We did not want the buffet but we did want to be seated upstairs so we could see the ships sail past. The management was happy to oblige. We chose our set menus beforehand and wine to be on the table on arrival. Everything went according to plan and was exceptional. We all enjoyed the food which was excellent as were the staff. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend the al la carte set menus in preference to the buffet. Family were really impressed and I am sure will want to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired160343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here many times before and really enjoyed a high quality restaurant. We were looking forward to enjoying a great evening with some very dear friends. We had booked a table and arrived on time. After some minutes, while the hostess, escorted a large party to the upstairs buffet section, we were instructed to take a seat at a table in the bar. We were not suprised as in the past we have also sat in the bar while someone has taken our drinks order and given us menus to peruse. There have always been delicious prawn crackers on the bar tables. Not so this time. We were left shivering in a freezing cold bar. Nobody approached us. Several groups were shown to the buffet (we had booked a la carte) and we just sat there. After a few minutes I managed to speak to the hostess between her trips upstairs. I asked if we could be shown to our table; a booth downstairs as offered at the time of booking. She said the a la carte area was full, and that she had no record of us being in a booth, although she did have our booking. To be fair she did offer us a table upstairs where we could be served a la carte, however we preferred the downstairs which was quieter (we have no problem with large groups being a bit loud but that's not we wanted on this evening). We left as this was supposed to be a special night out with friends and that clearly was not going to happen. I took the opportunity to use the ladies which is in sad need of attention. We took a taxi to the ever dependable Cowherds on Southampton Common where we had a warm welcome and great pub grub. The Royal Thai Pier is not the restaurant it once was and we shall not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuti's Royal Thai Pier also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kuti's Royal Thai Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing