We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Thai meal”

Kuti's Royal Thai Pier
Ranked #42 of 866 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Kuti's Royal Pier Thai must be the most attractive restaurant in Southampton.Originally the old Royal Pier Frontage, the building has been sympathetically renovated to a grand auditorium and has a lovely atmosphere.Upstairs the view across the Solent can be quite breathtaking and romantic.Downstairs the spacious area makes it ideal for special occasions.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great Thai meal”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just had a great meal here. The salad was great lovely and hot. Staff were friendly and the meal was good value. Courses came a little to close together but we can forgive them this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    194
    98
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

had heard mixed reviews about this resturant but took some friends here for a 25th wedding anniversary meal. meal was forgettable,had tastier from sainsburys frozen food section. the bar area was freezing and the ladies toilets were disgusting. ladies be warned go before you leave home/work as if you use the ladies before your meal you will lose your appetite.
okay place for the football crowd to pop in to before or after a match.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and appalling Maitre D'”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Food was only OK. What spoiled the evening was the Maitre D's response to a lost scarf which was placed in the sleeve of my coat. First response was to tell the colleague who was looking for it that it was in the sleeve; (Maitre D' took our coats when we arrived and saw me put it in the sleeve). Next response when the scarf could not be found was to deny ever seeing it! During an exchange of words during which I was made to feel I was making it all up - presumably to get the price of a scarf taken off the bill(?), the scarf was handed to us by another customer who said he found it on the floor of the reception/bar area. No apology was forthcoming. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a shocking maitre d”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Noisy, indifferent food at best and shocking management of a situation. We were treated as though we were trying to cheat the restaurant. A very challenging and aggressive maitre d. Not the sort of person 60somethings need to be exposed to. Never again I am afraid. Were were the delicate Thai flavours? My meal which was supposed to be cooked with chilli wasn't, but was served with sweet chilli sauce out of a bottle. Unfortunately fine for a boozy night out and no concerns about food quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 17trons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Mid-Week Experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and my partner went to Kuti's Thai, just on the off chance, it was cold, horrible and the thought of going to a supermarket really did not appeal.

The actual building is lovely, they offer a buffet, however we close the menu option.

We had the mixed starter, which was lovely, very fresh and delivered very quickly. The satay chicken was especially delicious.

The mains quickly followed, a mix of red and green curry's, with some Jasmine rice, it was all very delicious.

The service was great, and everything was immaculate.

We tend to eat at Sarah's Thai in portswood, but the food here was equally as delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuti's Royal Thai Pier also viewed

 

Been to Kuti's Royal Thai Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing