We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winston Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
guildford
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I wanted a cheap one night stay in Southampton, the usual places were all booked and only £100 + rooms left
after I had booked this I read the reviews and was a bit wary, no need,. I was warmly welcomed by Jenny who showed me to my room, twin beds and a shower room
pine furniture in bedroom, not really my taste but that's just personal, both rooms spotlessly clean, tea, coffee making and television and wi fi if needed
I had a good pub meal at a reasonable price
there was loud music (but not unbearably loud) and it stopped at 11.30pm, but hey it was a pub and a Saturday night
breakfast was freshly cooked with huge slabs of toast! help yourself to cereal etc
definitely good value for the money, staff were very helpful, would recommend it for a cheap stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babetteGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    20
    13
    23
See reviews for
13
18
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

To access the accommodation of this hotel we had to walk through the laundry room which was full of dirty linen,the toilet has no hand basin common hygiene requires this,there are no towels in the bathroom so you use the one's out of your room ,that is OK but it is obvious that people forget this as the curtains are used as a towel ,there is toothpaste all over them,and it look's like the bathmat gets used as a towel as well.What I found to be very dangerous are the live electric cables for the TV and Wifi hanging into what passes for a wardrobe. For £83 this hotel is poor value The Winston Hotel is easily the worst hotel that I have ever used.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Winston hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Winston Hotel/Pub scores by virtue of being relatively inexpensive on the South Coast of England. (£37 per night for a Single room with Shared Bathroom.) However, there only appeared to be one Shared Toilet / Bathroom and it was a fair trek from Room 9. Good rooms in Southampton are very hard to come by when there may four or five Cruise liners disembarking and embarking up to 3000 passengers. I had the misfortune to arrive from a long drive and was not amused to find a Live Heavy Metal Band performing in the bar just below my room. The noise was deafening and I had to spend the evening in the Beer Garden so as to get away from it. Beware Friday Evenings?? Breakfast was served according to one's requirements and was of good quality. Inevitably there is a supplement of £5.95 for this. Of course, you get what you pay for. (Incidentally, there was a Private Party in full swing on the following evening. I didn't suffer any noise from this, mind you it WAS at the other end of the hotel!) So all in all, it is cheap and cheerful. The bar is well stocked IF you can make yourself heard when ordering drinks!!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9 on a Friday night, plus it's on a major road junction with associated hard accelera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting the worst, due to my Dad not checking tripadvisor first and then the taxi drivers comment saying he wouldn't stay there if we paid him!, but was pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome at the bar, and getting shown to the room and keys explained etc.
The room itself was a spacious twin, with en suite, all clean and in order,
Yes the hotel is situated on a busy junction, but for the price compared to the rest of Southampton when the workboat show was on was reasonable.
We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked this place after looking at a few on late rooms. For the money this was the best option as i was only staying over night before a morning job.
I went for basic room shared bathroom. Upon arrival there were contractors arriving to stay the night, so parking was tough.
The gent who booked me in was friendly and helpful. The room and landing area needs decorating. Its very dated. Old tv etc. But it was clean.
The food was fresh and well presented. Priced well too.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that would put me off again is the decor.
And id upgrade to en-suite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biglee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in room L to attend a friend's party there. A double en-suite room. The chap at the bar (reception) was pleasant when we arrived and showed us to the room....in the annex at the rear. We'd read the reviews so knew roughly what to expect. The room was small with the shower cubicle in the corner just a couple of feet from the bed. A little scruffy but usable. The toilet was in what looked like a former store cupboard. The pan was loose so, when you sat down, the whole thing was in danger of toppling to one side. There was a screw missing from the base on one side and the other was loose. The boiler above had the bottom access panel missing with live electrics exposed. The television, a small 12", was on a high shelf and was worse than useless. Kept losing the signal. There were two remotes, one had the battery cover and one battery missing so didn't work. The bed was a little short and the quilt didn't tuck in anywhere so our feet stuck out the bottom. Got to bed at around midnight. All sorts of thumps and bumps from above and around. Lots of silly boys on noisy motorbikes revving up as they waited at the lights outside the pub/hotel then roaring away when the lights changed. At one o'clock, a police car with siren blaring shot across the junction outside the hotel so was woken up. Then, just got back to sleep when a crowd of noisy people arrived at two o'clock, laughing and shouting outside before slamming a couple of doors somewhere. Back to sleep again then was woken up at 6 by a group of smokers outside. Gave up, get up and made a cup of tea. All in all, an interesting experience. Would we stay there again? We think not.

Room Tip: Take a pair of ear plugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatcat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went as a large group, a friend was having a party and we needed a place to stay, 5 double and 1 triple room. Very good value money for money, clean and basic. Shared shower. Nice little bar, we had a drink in the evening. I would stay here again but not for a romantic trip or a family stay. Not a central location but free car park so perfect if you have a car. Best price I could find after looking for a few days. Beds comfy but on a busy road so not great if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#13 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Property: The Winston Hotel
Address: 51 Archers Road, Southampton SO15 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing