We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is exactly as you would expect.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. As I was checking in a rather rude guest was being handled very well by the other receptionist next to me.

The room was clean and functional and as described. It had a desk, tv, shower, loo and wash basin. If you were sharing a room you would have to know the person quite well as the shower opens direct into the room with just a frosted glass door for privacy and the wash basin is next to this door. Its a basic hotel, but you know this when you book so should not be a surprise.

Located next to a 24hr McDonalds should you need food, but also within walking distance of Southampton central Railway station and the town centre. I stayed two nights (Fri and sat) and there did seem to be alot of stag/hen parties checking in. I was expecting a noicy night but in the end it was fine. I parked my car in the barriered car park, this seemed secure but did cost £5 per night.

In total including parking for the two nights it cost just under £80 which I think was abit steep. I booked online 6 weeks in advance. For around £50 this would be ok. If I get the price for around £50 I would stay again, but if not I would rather pay alittle more and go somewhere not so basic.

But as far as budget hotels go, and this was my first time in an Ibis Budget if you pay the right price it is good value. It does exactly what it says on the tin! (as the advert goes)

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking the 24hr McDonalds. Mine was and it was rather noicy around 2am-3...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your
recent visit to Ibis Budget Southampton, I am delighted that you
enjoyed your stay and I have noted your other comments.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tristan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location in Southampton. Under 5 mins walk to the hotel from the Railway Station, National Express Terminal, West Quay Shopping/Leisure and City Centre.

All dealings with staff were pleasant. The girl who did check in (who I think was called Megan) was especially helpful. At the time of booking, this hotel had been fully booked for one night so we had booked the adjacent Ibis Hotel for the one night in the middle of our stay, due to some cancellations she was able to arrange an uninterrupted stay in the Ibis Budget and she even called the Ibis for us to cancel the booking there. Very good service which I would not have expected from a budget Hotel.

The room was clean, and comfortable if you are just using the room as somewhere to sleep. TV had a wide range of free view channels. The one criticism I did have is that although the room appeared clean, the floor could have been cleaner, if you walked on it barefoot your feet got filthy! Maybe the floor could benefit from a wash rather than just a hoover!

We noticed no noise from outside, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made
your stay enjoyable.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We needed just one night stay prior to our cruise so booked the Ibis Budget due to low nightly rate and within walking distance of cruise terminal and the National Express bus terminal, which we used for shuttle between Heathrow and Southampton. Being on a tight budget we chose this hotel and found it adequate. Our room was clean, functional, but with a very hard mattress. Did not hear any noises from the McDonalds next door even though our room was directly above the take out window.

We are active 60 and 70 years olds, thus walked easily from the bus station to hotel and the next day to the cruise ship terminal (both walks about 15 to 20 minutes). The Novatel and Ibis Southampton (different from the Ibis Budget Hotel) are both next door. Also nearby is the local casino, a Fridays Restaurant and shopping center. Within walking distance is Southampton's old town heritage center and Mayflower Park. If you are picky then don't stay here, but I can recommend it for basic inexpensive option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your
recent visit to Ibis Budget Hotel in Southampton.
I hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ibo K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I know "budget" means budget, and all I want from a quick overnight stay is a place to sleep and a place to wash, so this should have been adequate.

Unfortunately half the hotel faces onto the 24hr McDonald's and a busy dual carriageway. Windows seemed so flimsy that shut or open seemed to make no discernible difference. Noise was still heard through the earplugs I had preemptively brought with me, which was quite amazing. Bed was hard and pillows pathetic.

Normally I can cope with one or two issues like that, but all three just led to a most unsatisfactory night. There's a new Premier Inn opened up around the corner, I think I'll be trying that one next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to
expectations and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#21 of 25 in Southampton
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $50 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing