We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room on budget !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room on budget !!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here overnight as flying from Southampton the next day . Very fresh, modern and clean but very very basic . Dont expect any complimentary shampoos etc as none provided .
Basically a great place just to rest your head over night but do get the use of the 2 sister hotels on the same site .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    439
    340
    160
    164
See reviews for
233
488
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night and the sister hotel 30 meters away the next. day. value for money most certainly was. Next time its the Budget hotel first. this hotel provided a good comfortable nights accommodation at a fraction of the hotel next door. Comfortable bar and restaurant inn the foyer area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank cloistergarth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Good sized rooms, clean,good value for money, loads of shops to hand,and tidy.plus air con in room is great.yet to try breakfast,place was really easy to find and our port is directly oppisite the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in Aug, with wife and 1 year old daughter. I booked the hotel thinking it would be comparable to a travelodge/premier inn, however when seeing my room I was shocked. I understand it is budget accommodation but this hotel has less quality than Guantamano Bay prison! To have the shower actually almost on top of the bed in the same room, us strange to say the least. Rooms were unbearably hot as window would hardly open and the air con was far too noisy to leave on. Hotel was very noisy all night meaning my wife couldn't sleep. This was my first time in an ibis budget and it will be the last. Much rather pay another £20 for a few mod cons like a kettle in the room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave19821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've just spent a few days at the Ibis Budget Southampton Centre. It is well located, within walking distance of the central railway station and the coach station, and close to the West Quay shopping centre, and it has good parking facilities.
The room was very, very basic (no wardrobe), but clean and comfortable, and very well insulated - I heard no noise from traffic. Air conditioning worked fine - which was great in the midst of a heatwave! Wifi in the room also worked fine.
Reception staff, extremely efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONail2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

You have a 50/50 chance with this one. Make sure you are allocated a room on the quite side. There is a drive through McDs which seems to opperate all night on one side and it's very noisey. Otherwise this is a well run, clean, no frills, budget hotel. The online booking is annoying as you can only book 2 rooms at one go but don't try to phone because they'll charge you a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the carpark. Rooms on the other side are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the ibis last night, the room was welcoming as was the shower after a day helping out at scout camp.. One that actually had some water pressure in it! Bit wary when I arrived as was really close to mcdonalds and also there was a party of young people downstairs that where making noise when I parked my car.. But pleased to say that with the wonderful double glazing, I heard nothing and I was on the other side from mcdonalds :0)
Car park was secure, well worth paying £5 for piece of mind.
Only downside was the bed was very hard, more board like, but having read other reviews, I had the foresight to take my own pillow.
Will use again if I'm ever in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyckiknack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
298 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing