We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IBIS Budged Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    434
    336
    160
    162
See reviews for
233
482
168
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been traveling the world for 35 + years and this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Some hotels have been a bit shabby, but their character made up for it; some were expensive, but very luxurious, some were over priced but comfortable never the less.
The Ibis Budget is truly awful;
I paid 42 british pounds, plus a fiver for a very basic, toast and cereal breakfast, and.. another fiver for parking per day!
There was a price board lit up for the whole of my stay stating the rate at 28 pounds. I asked why I could not have this rate and got no satisfactory answer.
The room was simply a shower room with a (very, very )poor bed in it; the toilet was in a tiny cupboard. the bed was a wooden block with the cheapest and nastiest mattress I have ever seen with springs popping through the cover.
Servicing was extremely minimal- I took a cup of tea to the room- yes, no kettle, cups, glasses, fridge , ironing board, wardrobe, or anything else in the room- and the 3 cups stayed there each day. They are probably still there.
The shower head pulled off, the toilet ran all the time, the cheap crappy blind did not keep much light out, .........
I think you are getting the picture?
Avoid this at all costs- you can get much, MUCH better in the area fro the same or less money
If you re the owner or manager of Ibis reading this; Buck up- this is shocking and a terrible advert for the UK. If a foreign guest were to stay in your hotel, I fear they may never return to the country!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations.
The team and I at Ibis budget Southampton appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregaron, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I cannot fault the hotel. It is a budget place, but met all our requirements and would use it again for an essential whistle stop journey. Staff were efficient, polite, keen to help and the building was remarkably in excellent condition considering the cut price tariff. Lift was welcome being on the third floor and we were undisturbed by other customer noise despite it being July. The windows cut out the road noise efficiently and the window blinds were used with great effect as was the air conditioning on a swealtering day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Welshdaff0dil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

OK it's a budget hotel (old Etap) but we were pleasantly surprised at room 15.

Friendly receptionist, cheap parking, clean room, comfy bed and AIR CONDITIONING!! The shower is to die for.

We stayed at the local Holiday Inn last year, which is a dump compared to the Ibis and three times more expensive. Will definitely recommend and use again. Thanks Ibis and all your staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on route to cruise. Ideal location for gates 8 to 10. The staff were pleasant. This is the first time we have stayed at an ibis in England, we always use them when we are in France. The breakfast was ok and not a rip off, although not a huge choice, we ate at the neighbouring ibis next door as ours did not have a restaurant. Again good value, nothing fancy, we received a voucher to get free drink, also complimentary tea/coffee. The waitress was extremely friendly. We would recommend ibis for anyone joining a cruise and needing an overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryb1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the IBIS Budget for one night on a Hen Do. It does what it says - delivers accommodation on a budget. Room is like a pod! Tiny loo with a very stiff door but otherwise had everything I needed - including air con!
One might was enough for me but for a cheap break it does the trick

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing