We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a group of students staying here for one night whilst we went to Southampton clubbing. Staff were friendly and helpful. have to pay £5 to park the car which i thought was a bit steep. For the price we paid i think it was brilliant, however I wouldn't want to stay here for more than 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Callum122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sunshine_kmc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MikeH999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As students we booked because we were having a night out in Southampton and we couldn't get a taxi home so we decided to book a night at the Ibis Budget and for the price it was very basic but clean.

I would recommend to anyone who wants a place to stay for the night,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So glad you had an enjoyable time! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Waddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to going on a cruise. Can't believe how expensive accommodation in Southampton is - I wouldn't say the prices are exactly 'budget' but compared to other hotels in Southampton then yes it is a little cheaper.
I have never stayed at a Budget chain hotel before so the whole experience was a 1st for me. The room definitely was limited. Just a shower and separate toilet - no bathroom. Would be awkward if shared with friends etc. But yes budget so they have to cut costs somewhere.
My biggest issue was the bed. I had a really terrible sleep as the bed really hurt my back. I was in so much pain - I never usually have this problem with hotel beds. I was actually scared to go to bed the 2nd night. Wasn't much available elsewhere so had to stay put.
Good points about the hotel is the location. It is right next door to TGI Fridays and McDonalds if you want something to eat. It is a short 5-10 min walk from Southampton Central Train Station and is near Quayside Shopping Mall. Got a taxi to Mayflower Pier on day of cruise. Short ride that cost around 7 pounds.
Other thing to be aware of is that on Saturday night the drunks gather at McDonalds next door. When we were there we could hear fights and a lot of shouting all through the night. Not hotels fault but recommend getting a room away from that side of the building if staying over the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missCTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue. Please feel free to contact me on h6209-gm@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night before heading back up to London to catch a flight. The hotel and rooms are understandably budget but very clean. Room is small with toilet, shower and tv. Shower is terrible design with a door that has a hole for the handle, meaning water goes straight out onto the room floor. As no bathmat is provided this means the floor is very wet and dangerous. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable (all you feel is springs) and only one crappy pillow is provided. The location however is great. Close walking distance to coach and train stations, the high street and west quay mall. 24hr McDonalds is also behind if you need to leave before breakfast is provided, like we had to. Overall great location but not a very good nights sleep. If able to afford I would suggest trying the regular Ibis and Novotel hotels which are next door.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to contact me on h6209-gm@accor.com.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $44 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing