We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over the weekend, rooms were clean and average size, staff very helpful and polite. Only down side was quite noisy on the Saturday night so just bring ear plugs. In the center of Southampton close to town, bus and train station and we got 3 nights for the price of 2 so perfect value for money.
If you want somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay this is the ideal place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mantle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    439
    340
    160
    164
See reviews for
233
488
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Ibis Budget is very convenient for the Southampton Cruise Terminal and very easy to find. The room was bright, clean and comfortable accommodation. It costs £5.00 to park (not included in booking fee!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank travellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis budget Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room, although basic, provided all my requirements and was ideally situated for work. The only problem I encountered was the fact that there is a 24 hour McDonalds beneath my window which appeared to be patronised from dusk to dawn by very noisy diners and my sleep was often disturbed during the 3 nights of my stay. Other than that I was totally satisfied with my accommodation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 902CHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

i stayed at the Jurys Inn earlier in the month which was excellent but fully booked on this trip so I went with Ibis Budget expecting so much more than I got. The location is good but my bed and the noise outside both meant I didn't sleep very well at all. As it was booked through work I didn;t complain but I won't stay here again in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location was great for the daytime as it was within easy reach of the main shopping areas, and very close to Ikea. If you were going to be staying there by yourself though, I would be careful walking back at night as you may need to go through empty car parks. A buffet continental breakfast is available at a reasonable price, however there's a MacDonald's right next door for those who prefer.
The price is brilliant for a city centre stay however you get what you pay for. Our double room was small though adequate, with a single bunk above a double bed. The duvet and pillows were rather thin but the shower was really good, not just a tepid trickle like in some much more expensive hotels. The room was perfectly clean, and the reception staff friendly and helpful.
We'd originally booked just for somewhere to sleep after a night out on the town, and it seems that this was the same for many of the other guests. There were lots of guests outside smoking, waiting for taxis to take them out for the night, when we returned around 10.30pm. I expected to hear people returning at all hours, after a good night out, but I barely heard a thing.
I would definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a cheap and cheerful bed for the night, in reach of all that the centre of Southampton has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JofromCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Skip the breakfast - try it in either of the nearby hotels. Room heating with AC that was a bit too noisy. 2013 I thought internet in hotel-rooms were pretty standard. Appart from that an efficient
hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hurkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We have noted your comments about wifi, this will become available in all rooms this year.

Kind regards
Gerardo Souto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodham Ferrers, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel on Saturday as we came to watch West Ham play Southampton and to see friends. We were allowed to check in two hours early at no extra cost, the room was spotless as was the toilet and shower, both were immaculate. The bed was comfy and no noise at night so had a good nights sleep. Yes the rooms are compact but it is a budget and we will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Southampton. Everything is wishing easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards
Gerardo Souto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
298 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing