We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hotel of choice for pre cruise or shopping trips to Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Our hotel of choice for pre cruise or shopping trips to Southampton”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Ibis budget (formerly the Etap) is in a fabulous position well placed for those over nighting before a cruise break or spending a few days shopping or sight seeing in the Southampton area.
Etap hotels are well known on the continent and I have stayed in them in Europe often. The Ibis budget is exactly the same, clean basic accomodation which offers everything you need but with no frills. The room, which has air con/heating, is clean, the bed with single bunk over has a continental quilt ( single pillow per person) , hanging rail, dressing table/desk chair, colour tv with limited channels, seperate loo, shower cubicle and basin. No fridge, no tea and coffee facilities in room but available reasonably in reception, hair dryer available from reception (£10 deposit), no in room safe. One power point. This is basic but bright, clean and well presented, the bed is a touch on the hard side but that could be a plus too some. The parking is very reasonable at £5 a day payable at reception and cars can be left there while you cruise off, this is extremely handy and cheap for cruise parking unless your lucky enough to get cruise parking as part of your cruise deal. Reception will get you a taxi to your ship. If using as a base to sight see / shop in Southampton this is an excellent position just off the main shopping area, easy walking distance, with a leisure centre just over the road with multiplex cinema, and Southamptons Sea City museum just a short walk away too. Breakfast is a simple continental affair available in reception, or there is a MacDonalds next door and other eating places just a short walk away in the West Quay shopping centre. If you like the idea of the location but baulk at the utilitarian nature of the Ibis budget, the Ibis ( not budget) and the much posher Novotel are on the same site sharing the same car parking facility's, more expensive but more luxury. ( We've stayed at the Ibis next door, similar but slightly upgraded rooms, couldn't justify the Novotel as its quite expensive compared to the other two). Too summarise - basic but clean accomodation at a reasonable price, book early to get the best rates ( online).

Room Tip: The rooms as far as I can tell are all identical, there is a lift so there are no good or bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTurner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis budget Southampton.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    434
    336
    160
    162
See reviews for
233
482
168
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent one night here on a Friday and can't fault it at all. Reception very helpful and security checking everyone entering hotel at 2.30am actually staying there!
Room very basic but clean, quiet and confortable, with an extremely powerful shower!
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis budget Southampton. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely worth staying at . Good location. Maybe would benefit from tea / coffee makings facilities in the rooms. Very good shower and comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikechart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis budget Southampton! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing