We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch”
Review of Master Builder

Master Builder
Ranked #212 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our office Christmas party had lunch here before booking in to the MacDonald Elmers Court hotel. Everyone had a very tasty meal - good portions. One of the party ordered pork which came as a piece of pork on a wooden board with a whole cooked apple beside it - she ate and enjoyed it but was disappointed that it wasn't a more traditional serving (i.e.: gravy, potatoes etc. ).Staff were attentive and friendly. View out across the water was lovely. Recommend it. Good atmosphere, tasteful interior.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    12
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expensive and poor food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went here today with family for a Sunday carvery.
I was lucky as I got some fresh gammon, which was melt in the mouth and tasty. However, the turkey was tasteless and dry - the beef never tasted of much either.
The Yorkshire puddings tasted of fat and the potatoes looked and tasted bad.
The veg selection was not too good - undercooked carrots and the swede mash was poor. The peas were just peas (difficult to go wrong with them really!) I never tried the roasted parsnips as they looked like they'd been boiled.
The gravy was quite nice - luckily I returned to smother my meal to make sure I got my £9's worth!
Nice selection of beers and ciders though.
It's a dog friendly pub - although the dogs there today weren't friendly as we heard them fighting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Likes, quality Beer & Food, cleanliness, dog friendly & nice beer garden.
Dislikes, price & lack of atmosphere, outdoor seating very noisy due to main road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bog standard chain pub fare at best”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited with family for a mid-week quick lunch. Place was virtually empty - a couple of regulars propping up the bar and one other table in the restaurant area taken. Service was reasonably quick and efficient though not especially welcoming or friendly. Drinks no more or less than you would expect in a brewery run (tenanted or managed, not sure) pub. Food was generally unremarkable but acceptable burgers and so on. My coronation chicken baguette was unpleasant however - just a few bits of chicken breast smothered in mayo which had curry powder added to it, tasting raw and with a sawdust-like texture. Lazy. Was disappointed as I had heard good things about this place, especially Sunday carvery. Don't feel inspired to return to check that out for myself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gravyfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Rose Wine!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good food, good rose wine, excellent choice of ales and beers. Service is excellent. Decor and ambience is comfortable and homely. Pets made welcome too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank E Bloxham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master Builder also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Curbridge, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Master Builder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing