We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vegetarian Meal!”

Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant
Ranked #357 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Vegetarian Meal!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited with my housemate for her birthday. I had the Tofu and black bean sauce, and she had the Deep Fried Tofu in Spicy Salt, Garlic and Chilli and I had the Sizzling Fried Tofu with Green Pepper and Black Bean Sauce.

I must say that not only was it one of the best Chinese meals I've had in a long time, it was by far the nicest tofu dish I've ever had! Both dishes were spicy and full of flavour, and the tofu was cooked to perfection. The egg fried rice was also cooked brilliantly.

It wasn't too busy, and the service was fine, The lady serving us was pleasant and happy to help. The food also came out very quickly.

We'll definitely go again, and would highly recommend the food to anyone looking for a meat-free Chinese meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Rose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    9
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Chinese Restaurant in Southsea”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent, attentive service and great food. Had the sizzling seafood which was fantastic, scallops cooked perfectly. Very relaxed atmosphere, no need to rush but someone always on hand with a smile on their face. Good advice on quantities to eat, will definitely return. Our new favourite in Southsea.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0ycie_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This restaurant used to have a wow factor but our last visit will be the last. Booked a table in advance,walked through the door and were shown to a window table with barely a foot away from another window table, ourselves and the couple on the other table were so close it spoilt the evening. I spent the whole time facing the window watching the people going in and out of Blockbuster across the road,I only saw the rest of the restaurant at the end of a rather poor meal when I visited the toilet. We had the all you can eat menu,the crispy duck was diced not shredded, we asked for one fried rice and one boiled rice,after the meal the waitress ticked us off and said we should have ordered one or the other but that we could have ordered noodles,all a bit confusing, we will be sticking Yan Woo in future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie102_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Whether you're choosing to eat in the restaurant for grab a take-away from next door, the food has never disappointed in the 18 years I've been using it. Restaurant is fantastic - attentive service, great cuisine and cooking, an all-round fabulous experience. The take away is separate from the restaurant, and the food is just as great, but superb value for money. I love it!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maturin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Despite a change of ownership they have managed to retain the high standard of food and service which has made this restaurant renowned. Good food, good prices and great service. Been good for 15 years that I have been visiting and I hope will remain so for the next.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing