We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good dining, good time.”

Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant
Ranked #336 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food, good dining, good time.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We ate here with friends on a Saturday evening. When we arrived at 7.50pm we were the only customers in there which was a little unnerving! By 8.10pm there were no empty tables in the main area which was good to see. Our orders were taken and drinks delivered to the table.
The food arrived and was beautiful presented and my friend (who had only ever had Chinese takeaway was blown away). Why is there sugar in the deep fried seaweed? Our main courses were just as good but the desserts were not very adventurous just ordinary (a problem I find in most Chinese restaurants). The waitress was very attentive, I was only drinking tap water but she was there every time the glass got near to empty.
I had not eaten there for a few years but it was as good as I remembered.
I would definitely recommend this establishment – it is not at the high end of fine dining but a fine time was had by all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roleb5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    9
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be good of they listened to orders properly”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I specifically asked for spicy chicken that wasn't sweet, but they didn't listen and it was sweet! The seaweed was discusting and covered in sugar and i was over charged for the privalidge. In the past, I've had some nice chow meins from there but will not be going back!! Very very disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Food was really great and service was pleasant. Waitress suggested we only have 3 portions of rice between 4 of us, which was nice as we would have ordered 4!

Yuk Sung was odd, already pre-made in the lettuce leaves, which made it ever so slightly messier, but more than enough for all of us.

Would definitely come back :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosey_raison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently had a family party and ordered our takeaway from Tangs. The food was excellent. There were 15 of us and everybody said how lovely the food was. They even separated all our orders to save us having to sort out the food when it arrived. I cant recommend Tang's enough. Enjoyed the food so much that we have now booked for Mother's day and my birthday.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank spaggy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having been shown to our table and given menus we were left too long before the order was taken (the restaurant wasn't full and there were at least three waitresses). We had the set meal which was tasty but not cheap at £21 per person. Wine was also expensive and we didn't like the waitresses repeatedly topping up glasses obviously trying to make us order more. Having not visited for a number of years I was a little disappointed that it didn't quite live up to previous experiences probably as it had changed ownership.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BUNNYMANOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing