We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Find Quality Greek in Portsmouth!”
Review of Steki Taverna

Steki Taverna
Ranked #134 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surprise Find Quality Greek in Portsmouth!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had 2 great days out in Portsmouth to see a very old friend of mine and found this very authentic Greek Restaurant in the middle of Southsea Portsmouth.One wouldn't go to Portsmouth for quality food especially,but this was a gem.The claramari was so fresh we could still taste the sea salt.It was tender and cooked to perfection with a light crispy thin batter.Another dish that really surprise me was they cooked me Souvlaki - just the way they cooked it back in Kalamata south west of mainland Greece!Brought back some very good memories!! Will definitely go back again next time I visit my old friend Gary!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert8888Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    90
    30
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely atmosphere when we walked in, the staff were very busy but really efficient and friendly, service was good and the food was excellent. We weren't that keen on a couple of the things on the meat sharer for 2 but this was our personal taste. Definitely recommend.....!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank intruder16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very good Greek food. I ate numerous times in steki. The food is very good but the quality is not the same every time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Panos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Evening”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat near our son's flat and saw that Steki was busy - always a good sign. Our spur of the moment choice proved excellent. On a very hot evening the grilled meats were just what we fancied. The pitta bread deserves special mention - the nicest I have ever eaten.

Good service, drinkable house red and a nice menu mean we will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southsea
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited steki tavern in april for my daughters 18th. We visit Greece every year for holidays and have to say this wasn't authentic greek cooking. Lamb kleftico very dry and wasn't kleftico, definitely wont return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steki Taverna also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Steki Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing