We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food at its finest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soprano's

Soprano's
Ranked #8 of 642 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian food at its finest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here as a couple, as my friends have been here and recommend it, busy evening but still managed to get a table, nice friendly service, good choice on the menu plus they had specials on which was tetempting. Food came at a good pace nice fresh and hot, overall great experience, would recommend to try out!

Helpful?
Thank tl8369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    146
    53
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best fillet steak...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went here for steak the other day and it was unbelievably good. We love to go out for steak on special occasions, since good steak is always pricey, and we go to Relentless and Rancho's a lot, but never tried Soprano's. The other two places are great as well, but the fillet steak at Soprano's is the best we've tried so far. Beautifully cooked, with both done slightly differently as per our request, and it barely touched the sides.

The service is excellent, the atmosphere is really welcoming, and the food is exceptional. We can certainly vouch for the quality and variety of the rest of the menu, having been here a few times, but it was the steak that really impressed and prompted this review.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Irresistible Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'd wrongly discounted Soprano's in the past as a dinner venue due to its Cafe like appearance, assuming it to have an inferior menu for an evening meal but how wrong was I. The food is outstanding and the small venue creates a wonderful atmosphere. We attended with a large group for a friends birthday and the service was very good despite us being somewhat raucous throughout the night. The Italian Mezze starter was superb, shared between 3 of us there was still plenty to go round another 3 had we not been so greedy......hard not to be when it tastes so good! The Calzone was delicious as was the Chargrilled Chicken Salad all washed down with a very good Rioja. Highly recommended for a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCOLARI1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This bistro never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have eaten at this establishment so many times they even know what drink to give me before I order!

The menu is one of the most extensive in Southsea, you could return each day for a month and more without needing to eat the same dish.

It is very reasonably priced and tastes great. Thoroughly recommend the soup, whatever soup of the day it may be - comes with crusty bread too.

Usually take clients there, and my last bill - starters & main each with two rounds of coke/peroni/double whisky & ginger cost only £65, bargain!

Book in advance, they get packed out every night, and no surprise!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidNewman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best Italian I have been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a small restaurant so if you wish to be sure of a table you need to ring. We were lucky on the first night we called on spec and all four of us were surprised with the quality and service. The pasta is delicious and the steaks are just as good. Good wines too. We enjoyed it so much that the following night we ate there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soprano's also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Soprano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing