We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite restaurant!”
Review of Soprano's

Soprano's
Ranked #10 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love Soprano's! I've had a fair few birthday meals there and there has never been a disappointment!

Service is always good, food is excellent and it's good value for money. I've tried a few dishes, but my favourite dish is the cannelloni, followed by the tiramisu for dessert.

Went last Wednesday (27th Feb 13) for dinner and will be going again for lunch with their 2 lunches for £10 voucher.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinseed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    147
    53
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“When clients come, this is where we go”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great food, inexpensive, extensive selection of drinks and mixers, super service and wonderful staff - can't ask for more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidNewman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian?”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A bit overpriced and slow service, had lunch there in the Summer andwas disappointed with lack of choice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took our three year old son for lunch at Soprano's today.

We were hoping for speedy service as I had to be back at work, and that's exactly what we got (though it certainly wasn't rushed).

The lunchtime menu offers the same main courses you would find at dinner, with the added option of sandwiches, ciabattas, and smaller pasta portions at a reduced rate.

I had the two course lunch special which was just £7.50. I got a feta, olives and balsamic vinegar on ciabatta served on a bed of rocket, followed by a mushroom, pine nut, aubergine and tomato risotto. Very tasty and excellent value. My son and wife shared a garlic pizza bread, followed by a margherita pizza which again was very tasty.

Service was speedy, staff very friendly and food nice and hot. One happy family fed and watered for a little over £20.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greasby
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great little restaurant at a good price”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we were in town having a look round as my son was having an interview at portsmouth university
this was the only restaurant with any customers and we couldnt get a table at first but we were promised one an hour later , it was worth the wait i had a lovely calazone my wife had a goats cheese pizza and my son had a pasta dish with chicken all served hot and all were delicious the staff were very friendly we would good back no problem well done

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soprano's also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Soprano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing