We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat Guest House
Ranked #14 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant 3 Night stay in the most central part of Southsea, close to Pubs, Restaurants and Shopping this Guest House is a perfect alternative to the bigger out of town Hotels. Mark is busy all day tending to his property but never too busy to chat or offer local advice. Can highly recommend a visit to this picturesque property. Can further recommend the FANTASTIC Breakfast. Well worth the money, don't bother looking for anywhere else to stay, book this now. Our room, the cooper room was perfect, Usual facilities available, very clean and well kept.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil63Riffa_Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Mark and Sian are just delightful hosts. The location is good for walking to nearby shops and restaurants. We had a nice room with a large bathroom (shower actually) the bed so was comfy that it was hard to get up in the mornings. The house itself is gorgeous, the breakfast room is large light and airy, the breakfasts were good also especially the fruit platters.
Marks local knowledge is second to none, he was very helpful, informative and enthusiastic and Sian is so lovely, and I have to say again what a delightful couple they are. If we are in Portsmouth again we shall definitely return to the Retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobbinSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the first B and B that I booked because of Trip Advisor. You all were very helpful. We loved the owners. The location was superb as we could walk everywhere. Breakfasts were good. Rooms clean. A great choice over a mundane motel!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay for our honeymoon. Our experience was absolutely phenomenal! We stayed their from 4th May - 6th May. Breakfast was delightful; we opted for the full English which was cooked very well. Our hosts were extremely pleasant and helpful and catered to our every need. We had a great time and would definite recommend it; in fact we would love to go there again if another opportunity presented itself. You definitely won't regret it - we loved it and didn't want to leave. It was brilliant! brilliant! brilliant!
Richard and Taiwo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taiwo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was looking for a place to overnight in Portsmouth before leaving on a cruise and not having much luck. There are plenty of hotels, but the prices seemed high for what was being offered. Then I found the Retreat Guest House, and it was perfect. Lovely, comfortable rooms; pleasant, friendly hosts. A taxi from the coach station was under £5, and it was an easy walk back into Portsmouth or on to Southsea to explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the retreat for a short weekend break. (9th -11th aug 2013) Location was excellent, only a short walk to southsea shopping centre. Where there were the usual high st shops and fast food joints. At night it was lively with young party revellers although the hotel location was just outside of this to be disturbed. We took a taxi to the gunwhalf quays shopping centre and harbour which only cost £5 although this can easily be reached by foot. (20 mins) This was a little more up Market and had a relaxed atmosphere. The full English breakfast is defiantly worth getting up for, although this was a struggle as the beds were so comfortable! The bathroom was clean and a good size, the shower was amazing! (Even the bf stayed in there for longer then a cats lick!) The hosts Sian and mark are very welcoming and nothing's to much trouble. We had concerns over parking as we noticed it was permit holders only, as being so close to all the amenities. But rest assured we was kindly given a permit by the retreat to park right outside the whole weekend. All in all this is a great place to say and I would defiantly go back as it makes a change to the chain hotels that all offer the same but without luxury, great hospitality and creature comforts. We stayed in the Emmanuel suite. Thanks for a great stay Sarah & martin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xsarah1982x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Retreat and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Mark was a perfect host, the room spotlessly clean. Mark gave us advice on where to visit on our short stay. Sian was lovely, bright and cheerful. Breakfast was great set in a lovely dining room with freshly cooked locally sourced sausages etc.. The picture on the wall really made the room!! Mark and Sian are perfect hosts, and we would highly recommend the Retreat if you ever stay in Portsmouth. Perfect location also.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksie1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Guest House

Property: The Retreat Guest House
Address: 35 Grove Road South | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO5 3QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II listed building in the heart of Southsea’s conservation area, this Victorian house has been extensively modernised and now offers contemporary comforts whilst retaining its original character.Carefully restored and sensitively refurbished, this beautiful original Victorian building now houses 4 spacious en suite rooms, each of which is individually designed in a unique boutique style. Every stylish and attractive room features great modern comforts and facilities, including LCD flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. A generous full cooked English breakfast is included in the price and is complemented by fresh cafetière coffee and speciality teas.The Retreat Guest House offers the best of all worlds: beautiful period character and charm, alongside contemporary comforts and amenities. The guest house also has a superb location, tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Southsea, close to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing