We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lunchtime”

Loch Fyne - Portsmouth
Ranked #32 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $130
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Castletown
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lovely lunchtime”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We sat outside on a beautiful sunny afternoon. The menu was excellent, both a la carte and a set lunchtime menu. Initially we were going to go for the a la carte but we saw the set menu and it was amazing value, three courses for £12. Thai fish cakes and mackerel pâté for starters, followed by Moules and frites and sardines for main. Desserts were delicious, creme brûlée and passion fruit cheesecake. Our server was lovely, attentive and helpful. A memorable romantic lunch for a bargain price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarajeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    475
    227
    118
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Monday afternoon romantic lunch”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wow! Another fyne meal and eating experience. I and my partner had a rare day off together after endiing our long weekend. We decided to make the most of it and the glorious sunshine and eat out. Eating out in the Gun Whark Quays can be a little dicy if there is a cooling wind but Monday was light winds and very bright and sunny as you all would know. So we were sat outside, very quickly and without too much hesitation asked what we would like to drink. Draft beers to quench and a few glasses of Prosecco to celebrate ourselves. The menus was really varied, prices to suit all pockets and for those on a budget the daytime menu specials were really reasonable.

We started with half dozen oysters ( should have 12 yum!) although pretty tasty they were not shucked very cleanly and we spent a bit of time removing shell. Not the most attractive exercise to do in public and not in front of a partner. That being said it did not stop us from eating them and when asked by the waiter were the oysters good. I did mention the shell and that they could have been better. She said she would tell the fish monger to be more careful and did we want to have replacements. We declined but e consideration she gave meant a lot.

Then we went on to starters, again great size portions, good quality and by now on a second glass of sparkling wine we were really relaxed and enjoying the warmth and ambiance. Many daytime diners seem to enjoy the lunchtime special two or three course menu which we promise to try on out next visit. The mains arrived with some time to let the starters settle and again nothing to fault at all. The waiting team are attentive, polite able to discuss the dishes and even can suggest what would be more to your preference as fish can be cooked in several ways.

Great time, lovely company and the bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“LOVE LOCH FYNE!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ilive in Spain and rarely visit my old home town of Southsea but had to return last week and had lunch at Loch Fyne - my favorite restaurant in town. I was no disappointed, the 11.95 lunch menu was superb value for superb food. Had the cullin skink for starter and it was truly delicious, followed with mussels and chips which were good and finished with a gorgeous creme brulee with shortbread biscuit - so creamy. The others in the party also really enjoyed their food. The manager was very chatty and our waiter very amusing and attentive. I love the decor and the clean lines of the interior. Wish Loch Fyne was in Spain!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlicanteMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overated.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited 13/7/13 having booked a table for 4 in advance. It was a lovely evening and it was quite busy, the staff appeared a little stretched as a result but no problem as we were not in a hurry.
My problem was the food and value. I ordered fish and chips with peas and tartare sauce. £13.25 i thought was a little steep but looked forward to something special. The fish and the chips were ok but not great ,( i do realise there are limitations on what you can do with fish and chips) the peas and the tartare sauce came in 2 separate containers, each the size of an egg cup. An egg cup portion of peas! Presentation was good but content very disappointing and poor value for money. The most expensive fish and chips i've ever had and it was not worth it.
Still hungry, I ordered the cheesecake for sweet, quality was fine but the size was disappointing. It was the usual triangular shape about 10 cm long and about 4cm wide at the thick end, plus a very small portion of ice cream.
We didnt bother with any coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyncooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I took my mum & sister here today for lunch. We chose the special lunch menu, 2 course for £9.95, it was excellent. The service was amazing, we sat outside and there were no tables left in the shade, but the waitress went and found a large umbrella for my sister so she had some shade and even offered us some sun tan cream, the water jug was replaced immediately when finished.

I have never had a bad meal here, and have been many times and find all the staff brilliant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Portsmouth also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing