We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average service. Poor food.”

Azzurro - Portsmouth
Ranked #120 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Azzurro is a popular chain of Italian restaurants across the UK serving a mixture of pasta and pizza staples together with a selection of more sophisticated dishes. This Portsmouth branch is set next to the Spinnaker Tower in the revitalised area of Gunwharf Quays, and has a relaxed, family-friendly vibe, with colouring sheets and children's menus to keep the kids entertained. It is also a splendid choice for summer functions, with the outdoor terrace offering a spectacular view overlooking the Solent. Inspired by the finest Italian recipes, Azzurro uses the freshest ingredients to create a great selection of classic Italian dishes and frequently changing specials to ensure that you can enjoy a new culinary experience with each visit. Each meal is freshly prepared on-site, meaning that you will be served good food fast, rather than just fast food. As well as stocking some truly exceptional wines from both traditional and New World regions, the bars at Azzurro also offer some of Europe's most loved beers on draught and bottled.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average service. Poor food.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went for dinner on a Friday evening. Service was friendly enough, but not super attentive. The cannoli was almost inedible. Not exactly sure what was wrong with it, but it had a strong, bad flavor. Wife had the sea bass. It tasted okay, but had bones and scales. After I left the uneaten dish in front of me for a good 15 minutes, the waitress came by to ask if we wanted anything else. I told the waitress that my dish was inedible. She simply apologised and brought the bill. Won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobieflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your meal . I will investigate your comments and make any necessary changes.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    98
    49
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day Out”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had spent ages looking around gunwarf quays looking for food, and this was the last place we went to, as we saw the offer outside which said main meal and soft drink for £7.95 which we thought was very reasonable. Myself and my partner both had pizzas which were delicious, and tiramisu which was wonderful. The waiter gave us a voucher which entitled us to get my pizza for free, which we were very pleased with. Lovely atmosphere, and lovely staff. Authentic Italian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Customer

thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we hope that we can welcome you back into our restaurant again very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tasteless cheap food, rip off!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food was rubbish, sauce wasn't rich enough and the place itself was empty. Even though the waitress gave average service the restaurant itself was vile l with mismatched furniture and decoration with cheap flowers on the table. Plugs were hanging off the wall which I assume is a major safety hazard. Wouldn't recommend the place to anyone and wouldn't return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pbooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer

thank you for your comments which we have noted. I do hope that whilst dining you gave the staff the chance to put things right. We will endeavour to improve .

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Service but very bad food...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food was really bad... Unfortunately everything we had was tasteless...

We had a calamari and crostini as starters. Calamari had no taste of calamari and the crostini which were 5 different small pieces of bread with several toppings like olives and salmon were most of them again with no taste.

Then as mains, we had a tagliatelle with salmone which was really really tasteless and flavorless and a spaghetti carbanara which was again without taste. Honestly i don’t know how did they manage to do that but it was really tasteless.

As a desert, we had a tiramisu (which was not a tiramisu) and we just just had a spoon of it and we left it, and cheesecake with lemon aroma which was ok.

The only good thing of this restaurant was the service with some really kind and smiling persons hence the two stars instead of one in the overall rating.

Overall, i wouldn’t recommend that...

Price-wise, it is expensive for what you get with an average price for the starter at 6 pounds, for the main at 10 pounds and the desert at 6 pounds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank --Rom--210--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I apologise that you did not enjoy your meal . Our team at the restaurant would have loved to address this whilst you were there.Your comments are unusual but we have taken them on board and we will improve by them.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on Fri 8th March. The food was very good, and the service very attentive and friendly. The only thing wrong was that my lager (Staropramen) was cloudy and vinegary, but it was changed immediately, with no fuss. We had a very pleasant evening, and the views are great !

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer

we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azzurro - Portsmouth also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Azzurro - Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing