We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for us!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A very rare opportunity, My husband and I were looking forward to a couple of nights away from the family and wanted somewhere special and relaxing. I had seen this hotel online and thought it looked and sounded stunning and we weren't disappointed. We arrived a little early to book in but were given a parking permit (we parked very easily in the road) and a map aLSO advice about the area. When we were shown to our room it was a "Wow" ,gorgeous ,tasteful décor and a huge comfortable bed!! Our breakfast the next morning was delicious, friendly ,helpful service and served in another beautifully designed dining area. The Hotel was situated centrally we walked everywhere. We were both sorry to leave after our stay and would definitely book here or one of the other Hotels within this group again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are very pleased you and your husband were able to take a break and unwind at Somerset House Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the decoration of your room and found the bed comfortable. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you are planning another stay in Portsmouth and we will happily accommodate you. Thank you for the review, we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    71
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
193
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for our daughter's graduation. Very clean rooms, great breakfast, usual choices all of good quality and any special requests catered for. We had dinner in the hotel one night, same room as breakfast, lovely food and great service.'. Before our visit Ellie the bookings manager was extremely helpful and efficient organising taxis for us to get to ceremony and we had to change the booking a number of times. We had a slight problem with one of the staff, I mentioned this to Mary who is one of the managers, she was very open to hear about the problem and it was dealt with very quickly. Be aware that this hotel is one of 4 that are very close together in the same road but the restaurant for breakfast is across the road and it can be a bit confusing when you check in as this is done over the road. Parking is great, if you do not use the carpark belonging to Stattons Boutique hotel (one of the group) you are given a parking permit and we always found a space right outside the hotel. We upgraded our room but to be honest the standard rooms were of a very high quality and the only difference is the size of the room so unless you like a large room then the standard rooms are fine. They do need to sort out their electronic keys as on 4 occasions we got back to our rooms and at least one of our party had to walk over to reception as the keys needed re-booting which was a bit annoying. It is unllkely that we will want to stay in Portsmouth again now our daughter is not longer at uni but if we did we would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: standard rooms are lovely - we upgraded before we arrived only difference is size. other members of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the minute we arrived wonderful welcome from our lovely Portugese lady, believe her name was Helen who immediately offered us coffee and a chat as it was our first time
in the area
Room was great very nice toiletries very high standard of cleanliness
Unfortunately other arrangements had been made for dinner otherwise would have dined in the kitchen
I am in Hospitality in a senior position and recognise they have got it so right
We will be back as my daughters live in the area and it is a world apart from the holiday inn at gun wharf where the price is practically the same

Have already recommended to our friends who frequently visit the area on business and stay at the Langstone

Allen and Sandra Wright

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 996Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fab staff and lovely rooms. Brkfast was wonderful too with amazing omlettes and beautiful fresh fruit salad plus the rest of the goodies on offer. Booked 3 rooms for a family celebration and all rooms were tastefully and individually decorated to a very high standard. Would definately return. Thank you Mary and all, you are a truly wonderful team xxx

Room Tip: All our rooms were nice.. obviously the upgrades are more spacious with baths instead of showers, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K0hler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Four of us stayed in Somerset House for 4 nights, everything perfect, room large and clean, only minus point was the very small toilet in the ground floor room. The Staff were wonderful, couldn't do enough for us, special mention for Mary who looked after our every need. Very quiet hotel and a great place to stay when sight-seeing. Would hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

5* plus reception and throughout our stay, fine dining evening meal and breakfast nothing was a bother every detail to a perfect stay was spot on. The room we stayed in had every home comfort. special mention to Mary Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the staff, room was spotless, very quiet area, great place to travel out from, breakfast was excellent, also had dinner at the kitchen and have to say it was the best steak I've ever had, would definetly return here in the future, thanks to all

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kazwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset House Hotel. We are pleased you chose to dine in our restaurant and enjoyed the meal. It is brilliant to hear that you would return to our hotel! Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
700 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing