We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Arrived on Sunday 17 November and checked in at the Florence with no problems, Somerset House just across the road and both easily found with the sat nav. Very pleasantly surprised to have been able to park off road on the gravel drive of the Florence, if parking on road then its very very tight!

Stay in room 1 and ashamed to say I did the "four in a bed" checks and found a few minor issues like a very dirty extractor fan in the bathroom, a hair in the shower tray, marks on the bedroom walls and ceiling and a hair in the bed. However, a lovely room, loads of features, well stocked tea and coffee, clean linen and beautiful thick white fluffy towels.

Have to say despite being an old building the walls and ceilings are very thin. Sounded like there were a herd of elephants walking above us, you can hear the toilets flushing, hairdryers and people speaking. The front door slams shut and is quite disturbing.

Breakfast at the Florence was ok, a good selection on offer but the full English is kept in hot trays and not freshly prepared for you. No skimmed milk on offer but this seems to be a standard thing for most hotels. Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

For us the location of the hotel was great but it is probably a good 30 minute walk to the
hovercraft, Gunwharf and restaurants. Consider a taxi if you are not prepared for this.

Overall a lovely stay just a few minor issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASbic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    71
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
194
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Alcazares
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was very quiet. One had to go and check in at the sister hotel, The Florence hotel. The windows in the room were very draughty.
There were no bath soaps in the bathroom so we had to ask for those.
I would prefer to stay at the sister Stattons hotel next time I am visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous place to stop. Superb service from Lisa who was chief cook and bottle washer (doing everything well) great accommodation and friendly personal service. Mercers have 4 such places in close proximity and all well worth trying. Avoid the nearby chain hotels at x price and plump for family run small group of boutique hotels at y price (50% of x) take note trippers !!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Minty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Few days away to see the Mary Rose/Victory/Warrior and Spinnaker. Good base in Southsea. Nice room, clean and tidy with ensuite shower room. We booked Sea-le-vie but they were decorating when we arrived so we were given an upgrade to Somerset House. Down side was going to another building to have breakfast and having people who didn't sleep in the room above us! Thankfully this was for only one night. Portsmouth was great with lots to do and see and the Gunwarf is great for shoppers!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netty13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you are back in the area, we would be happy to see you again so you could see our newly refurbished rooms! Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best wishes,
All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went with my 14 Y/O boy to this hotel... what a great choice !!!!
Good rates, excellent staff (thank you Lisa - you were the best )
Nice rooms so well decorated in a splendid house
This is the greatest location in Portsmouth : close to the sea, quiet place...hmmmm
Sure we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We enjoyed having you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes,
All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was expecting more from the reviews on here. Room was ok but we have both returned home with bruises from the low ceilings. However it was the attitude of the breakfast and check-out staff which really turned us off. Disinterested and miserable, crashing crockery and cutlery as we ate. I also really don't like having to wait in the rain for the door to be opened for breakfast, why not leave it on the latch? Somerset house is not a hotel, more like an annexe round the corner from Florence house, I seemed to have missed this from the website. Wanted to like it, but really didn't.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are most disappointed to read your comments on breakfast. Firstly every guest has a key card which accesses the front door or the required buildings - your card would have opened the door you stood outside of in the rain.

We are very surprised to read that the two staff who served you are "disinterested and miserable' as - having checked back on the dates you stayed - I can see you were served by our two most able and capable staff who we are proud to have working for us. I cannot imagine how their behavior could have been interpreted in this way. They are both bemused at your review as well as remember serving you, they are disappointed that you did not find their service friendly as our other guests do (see review above this and all reviews below)

Regarding Somerset House it is indeed an annex where out most quiet rooms are housed undisturbed by any reception or bar area. Our largest rooms are there and I note you had our newly refurbished Spa room and large Superior Room with Bath.

I see you also stayed at the Royal Maritime Club whilst in Portsmouth, a very different style of accommodation to ours, and that you enjoyed this so perhaps this style of property is more suited to your taste and preference.

Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy the hotel but feel the, quite insulting "poor" review score is most unwarranted.

Yours truly

Florence and Somerset House Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really something special, we stayed 2 nights in a family room and were very impressed with the decor, quality of fittings, quality of bedding and comfort of the bed and pillows. The staff were very professional at Florence house where you have to check in and eat breakfast. We had breakfast included and this was in a lovely cosy front room with quality plates and cutlery, the food was freshly cooked with a great selection of hot food or cereals and toast.
The hotel itself is not clearly labelled but when you check in at Florence house they take you to your room across the road. You get a parking permit but the roads are tight so I suggest taking a small car if you have the option.
Our room was bright and airy with high ceilings neutral tones and just a spash of Buddha decor, the bathroom was big with a gorgeous bath and rain shower, his and hers sinks, tiled all round. Big fluffy bath towels and quality toiletries adds to the quality of the room.
We requested a cot as we travelled with a 3 and 1 year old which was in the room on arrival, there was a fold out sofa bed which my daughter enjoyed all to herself.
The tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were all restocked daily and the bedroom serviced to a high standard.
I would highly recommend this hotel for both family and romantic weekend, the only negatives are that the bathroom door needed a lock and the room could do with blackout curtains.
We used taxis to get into Portsmouth which was no hassle, we had multiple taxis to and from gunwharf quays and used aqua cars, it cost less than £4 each time and the taxi company was very professional, and there in 5 mins every time.
Can't wait to return to this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeacockTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room, breakfast and all the services provided. We always enjoy having families here, so please do not hesitate to contact us if you are coming to the area again – it would be lovely to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing