We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Florence House Hotel & their other hotels in Portsmouth, what a great find! Ellie who was my contact throughout booking and helping me organise my wedding plans went well above and beyond the normal service levels. It's rare these days to find that lovely personal touch in customer service levels and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff helped make a potentially stressful time for us (getting married) into a really easy process.
These hotels are beautiful, very well furnished and perfect for a short break away. We loved it so much that we now will visit Portsmouth again for a weekend, not just because we were getting on a boat.
There's also a great little pub close to the Florence House Hotel just reopened, so everything is on the doorstep, perfect!

Room Tip: Nothing else to add to the comments above, just book here and give yourself a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you Lesley for your review. I loved helping you plan such a special occasion and we are so pleased all went to plan with your big day!

We hope to welcome you for another visit and trust you are enjoying married life.

Kind regards

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 361 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We all do it nowadays don't we? Sit trawling through the internet looking at loads of different websites for something just that little bit different. Well here it is, or rather they are! 3 gorgeous boutique hotels within a stone's throw of each other, with another in the group just a few roads away. Quiet location despite being really close to the seafront, friendly, welcoming, attentive staff, gorgeous large bedroom with everything you'd need and a relaxed, tasty breakfast in the morning, no problem parking and all for less than the price of the local Premier Inn without breakfast!! We are a couple in our 50's and Somerset/Florence House suited us beautifully - just wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you!

Room Tip: All individual and beautifully presented. A quiet location so I'm guessing any room would be sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for such a great review and kind comments about our group of hotels - The Mercer Collection - in Southsea, it's always a pleasure to read a review like this. We certainly try to make our rates competitive with the chain hotels and offer something of greater value for your money.

Hope to see you again,

Best regards

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I love this tiny boutique hotel, it is well maintained, very clean and is set on a high standards, i absolutely love the overhead shower, L'occitane toiletries and soft fluffy towels. The breakfast is served on the sister hotel just a few steps away, also the lounge is located there which is fine. The breakfast is comprises mainly on cereals and yoghurts have to order their "farmer's breakfast" which is a bit on the expensive side. Oh, the filter coffee was lovely! Me and my husband had a wonderful night sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennylynEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you liked the hotel, especially the coffee and shower. We are very glad you had a good night's sleep too - very important!

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very well appointed rooms - (1 executive double and the other a Superior Double room). Positioned in a quiet road just set back from the sea front. Need to check in at the Florence Hotel (sister hotel over the road), which is easy to find - no big signs for the Somerset Hotel! Off street parking ok with resident permits provided, There is a car park at one of their our sister hotels over the road. Nice pub with good food (Jolly Sailor) just around the corrner, where they have a Quiz and Curry night on Tuesdays.
Somerset House was a nice and friendly, independent hotel at reasonable prices. If I need to sat in Portsmouth again, I will stay here

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review - we always love to read people's comments and thoughts,

Best regards

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful decor, relaxing, serene surroundings and attention to detail.
Breakfast was a pleasure lots of choice, we opted for continental as it looked so nice.
I only have one request please leave the butter off the top of the croissants as you just get sticky fingers!
Good luck to the delightful new young lady receptionist.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review and good wishes to our new receptionist. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts on the hotel.

Many thanks

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Somerset House Hotel 25th - 28th Jan. a superb small boutique hotel, the staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms we had were excellent, one for myself and hubby one for son and wife, on our first night the towel rail in the bathroom leaked, we asked if we could have another room, this was no trouble and we changed rooms, they are lovely large rooms with en-suite facilities, with L'occitane toiletries, the towels were changed every day, plenty of tea coffee on hospitality tray, we had room service on first night, which was brilliant, we had selection of sandwiches. Breakfast is in sister hotel just a few yards across the very quiet road, breakfast continental, but you can order from breakfast menu cooked options at a very reasonable charge, excellent service and breakfast. I had asked if they could get me a birthday cake for my son's birthday on the Saturday, this they did for me and was brought out to him with candles after breakfast, perfect. Exceptional staff at this hotel. If anyone is thinking of going to Portsmouth I would thoroughly recommend the Somerset House Hotel, one NOT to be MISSED. Thank you all at Somerset House for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review, it as lovely to help you celebrate with cake and all and I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel! You were all great guests to have with us and we hope to see you for another celebration soon,

Best wishes all at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked for one night at the Somerset House Hotel for January 16th. We had an executive room on a B & B basis at a cost of £59. After making the booking I phoned to ask if we could switch to a downstairs room. The receptionist said she would speak to her manager and called later to confirm that this had been arranged. We had to check in at a sister hotel with our hotel being a few metres opposite in another road. We were provided with off road parking for our car a few metres from our hotel. The room was well laid out with first class decor and was spotless. The room was well heated with a large radiator and had an enormous mirror. There was a hospitality tray but we would have preferred larger cups for the room as we enjoy a bigger cup of tea! The ensuite bathroom had a good size shower with a large showerhead. There was also a small hand held shower but my wife could not get this to work. A small point which we should have mentioned to the manager. The toiletries were of a good quality. We ordered soup and a sandwich each from room service. The quality was good although we had to phone reception as the baguettes with the soup were not provided. This was corrected, with an apology, very quickly. We thought the food quality was good and the cost was £22 -perhaps a little expensive but very enjoyable. We had a very peaceful nights sleep. The bed was firm and very comfortable and the pillows were excellent. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast (a cooked breakfast was available at an extra charge) which contained a good selection of fruit and cereals with fruit juice, toast and tea or coffee. It was necessary to go to the sister hotel for breakfast as there is no dining area in the Somerset House. The service was first class and attentive without being overpowering. We can heartily recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in revisiting in the future. We wish the hotel future success,

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was quiet even thoough the window overlooked the roadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Channon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for such a comprehensive and thoughtful review, we really appreciate it! It is lovely to hear your thoughts on the whole stay and we appreciate your kind wishes at the end of the review.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards

Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,208 reviews
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
706 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $72 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. There is a Fine Dining restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing