We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Lovely hotel and very friendly. My daughter bought me here for my birthday and it was very special. The breakfast was really good and all the staff were very good. I have stayed in some very luxurious hotels around the world and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend to anyone. Definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: The garden room is more quiet as it's at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    110
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
370
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed on hotels large and small around the world and I can say without hesitation that Number Four exceeded any expectations I had.

The quality of the hotel, staff, general areas and especially the room has to be seen to be really appreciated.

Room 10 was just perfect for us.... To all at Number Four thanks you so much and I will be back!

If you have not stayed here, don't just take my word... go and spoil yourself and see just what a wonderful place this is!

Room Tip: Room 10 with a bath at the top of the house...silence prevailed throughout our stay! Wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJofPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington & California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very nice small boutique hotel. Good location in Portsmouth, close everything you would want to see. Our room was small with a TINY but nice and efficient bathroom. The staff could not have been nicer and they served a lovely breakfast to order. Quick visit but really enjoyed it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoTraveller-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel was on of the nicest I've stayed in. Definitely worth the money.
We arrived late last night and greated by a very nice chap who arranged tea and coffee for us.we had breakfast im bed delivered by Lisa and her colleague who I think was called Alex. In brief the breakfast and service was fantastic.
Decor, rooms and everything else was very good.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshie0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a find, couldnt begin to describe what a wonderful small hotel this is, the staff couldnt do enough, spotlss, no tea coffe facilities in room as they like a very high standard of perfection and are more than happy to bring tea or coffee as often as you want, FREE OF CHARGE!!!!!!!!!!!!, ate at their sister hotel, courtesy taxi there and back, food was fantastic, staff so attentive, cater for gluten free diets, breakfast really good, the best of everything, 10 mins from ferry to Spain, will stay here every time, price is fantastic value for money, thank you so much, memorable for all the right reasons

Room Tip: top room has bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends, so we could go shopping next day. Sarah at reception welcomed us and was really nice and friendly. Rob my husband and I had stayed here before and had room number 6, so we let our friends have that one and we had room 10.. Next time we go back we will have room 6.. they can have room 7 if possible..Breakfast was lovely,a;; in all another enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: Room number 6 is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you had great service from one of our team Sarah.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future so you can try some more of our rooms.

Best regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week as part of a two day trip intending to visit Southampton Cruise terminal (the Oriana) and then Portsmouth Historic Naval Dockyard.
As is our custom now, I used Tripadvisor to select our hotel/b&b for the overnight stay and found No 4 Boutique Hotel - so very pleased we did and we were not disappointed with our decision .
Not knowing the city the sat nav was invaluable to help us find it in the dusk of late afternoon .
Reception could not do enough to help and advise us, maintaining a very pleasant and cheerful disposition, even offering to book a table at the restaurant we had decided to use that evening.
The room (No 6) was very stylish, spacious, immaculate, comfortable and - for a cold evening - lovely and warm, with no noise from the road outside so a quiet night. The bathroon had the wow factor, including a double shower, and was superb.
All of this was backed up by a very attentive service. It started with an early morning tea tray and then delightful service over a beautifully prepared breakfast.
Highly recommended and would most certainly stay again - and will probably do so when I go back to conclude my tour of the Dockyard. There is so much to see there and experience in one day.
Thank you No 4 Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouldbetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review, we appreciate it. Room 6 is the most popular room and we are glad you liked it!

Do come back to us when you finish your Dockyard Tour.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing