We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Number Four Boutique Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Number Four Boutique Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As soon as arrived we were offered a cuppa. The weather was grim but the welcome great, and we were into some gorgeous decor with a lovely room all ready for us early. The staff are all consistent in their training and pleasant approach to clients, it's a hallmark of this chain. The breakfasts were a delight. We stayed four nights, room servicing was excellent. All in all a wonderful stay, highly recommended, Good Parking, Excellent Bar, FREE WIFI!

Room Tip: A couple of rooms on the ground floor if you prefer. A great Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words - particularly those about the staff - much appreciated. If you are travelling this way again do come back to us

Best regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    108
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
362
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel from reports that I found in Tripadvisor, they were all correct, we could not fault the hotel, the staff were helpful with finding a restaurant for us, the breakfast was very god lots of choice.
Ideal hotel to stop for a night after a ferry trip from France.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again. We are pleased all our staff made you feel welcome and we look forward seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was staying for one night when on business in the area. From the outside, the hotel looks a bit nondescript , however, as soon as the door opens, your spirits rise.
The old Victorian house has been very tastefully made over with black wooden floors. I was given a warm welcome from the reception staff even though I arrived after 8pm and my bags were taken to my room.
Although tea and coffee making facilities are not available in the room, when requested, tea and coffee arrive very quickly - lovely coffee in a small cafetiere.
I had the small double room that has been discussed elsewhere and I loved it. Beautifully decorated and very tastefully accessorised - with lamps, mirrors etc... A very feminine room, I think.
The wifi worked perfectly. The bathroom was small but perfect, very clean with excellent walk-in shower with very nice L'Occitane toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is in a very quiet location.
Breakfast was served in a dedicated lower room, the cooked breakfast was great, service was very friendly and efficient.
This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room Three is perfect for women travelling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It makes us really happy to read such nice things! Our aim is to make our every guest feel this way so thank you so much once again and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Surperb boutique hotel, with friendly, helpful staff and lovely rooms. Had ordered a bottle of Champagne to be waiting in the room as we were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday and the hotel asked if I wanted a message to be left with it, which I thought would be written on a small card...however they had printed it onto an A4 piece of paper and laminated it, which made a lovely keepsake of our trip!

Would definitely stay here again...hopefully next time for more than one night though!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel_uk_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your boyfriend's birthday! We enjoyed having you here and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay! Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you are back in the area for a special occasion or a shopping trip!

Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Clean well decorated friendly hotel. Room was large and double shower was a great idea. Breakfasts were well cooked though the non cooked choices are very limited. Staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to find us a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our Superior Room. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great service, great breakfast, very clean, and great public areas.
But we had a small double (no pictures on the website) small is right the room was full of bed and the shower room really shoehorned in.

So for us we didn't get the experience we hoped for - we had 1 night and that's all we could have dealt with in such a tiny room.

But its a lovely place - just make sure you know that the room you are going to is one of the spacious ones pictured on their website.

Room Tip: Avoid the small double - they are really cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments you made on our service and cleanliness - it's always great to hear.

We are sorry you found the "Small Double Room" small. We clearly advertise it as "small" to avoid those guests who need more space booking it. The room is still perfectly appointed with double bed, en-suite shower room, dressing table, wardrobe and bedside tables. We would like to make anyone else reading this review aware that all room photos are shown on the website - both prior to booking, during the booking process and then on the booking confirmation - at each stage of this process you can clearly see the photos and description of the small double room booked. There is also a particular tab labeled "Small Double Room" where you can peruse more photos of the room.

I note you also stayed at our neighboring hotel and also found the room small there so may we suggest perhaps speaking directly with a hotel prior to booking as they are always more than happy to assist in finding the perfect bedroom for your needs.

Once again, we appreciate very much the kind comments you made however would like to point out to all readers that the small double photos are clearly shown online, and that we label the room as small because it is exactly that.

Kind regards

All at Number Four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

As the title says, this is a superb boutique hotel. We have stayed in various hotels in Portsmouth as we like to visit this area but this was our first stay at this hotel and only found through trip advisor, then we booked direct.

Midweek it's a lot cheaper than the weekend rate, we stayed midweek for our anniversary and cannot fault the hotel. We booked a superior room with shower, this is a massive room (room 6) which is the main picture (ATM) on trip advisor.

We checked in and parked easily on the hotel premises, there are only 4 spaces but there were spaces to park at no charge directly outside. There is a bus service outside to get into gun wharf quay and the dockyard but use the cab firm recommended by the hotel and a cab will only cost £4.50 and take 5 minutes whereas a bus takes 27 minutes!

Upon arrival we we're show our room and all we needed to know was explained. We did have a little peak at some others rooms which were all lovely, varied in size, the rooms advertised are exactly how they are. So if you book a small double you will get a small double, you book a superior room you get a larger room.

The hotel is very modern and immaculately clean. The interior design especially in our room was fabulous, most amazing comfortable bed and lovely bedding. Most amazing double shower.

They no longer have a restaurant at this hotel but apparently there sister hotels have a restaurant. We ate out at gun wharf quays and went back to the hotel for a drink at the bar before retiring for the evening, lovely bar area with a nice lounge at the front of the building. Very quiet hotel, which suited us perfectly for this trip.

Breakfast is either downstairs in the small restaurant or can be delivered to your room for no extra charge, we opted for breakfast in bed, it was wonderful. Would highly recommend.

All in all this hotel is amazing if you want a small boutique hotel. We will definitely stay here again and would like to see the other hotels in the group which are just round the corner, but as Number Four has only recently been refurbished think it will take some beating.

Well done! Number Four, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 superior with shower , best room in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive and thoughtful review, we really appreciate it. We're glad you decided to celebrate your Anniversary with us! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again! Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you're coming to Portsmouth - it would be lovely to see you again!

Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing