We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“super hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Knock on the door and your stay begins!
Super staff, helpful is not the word, they do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
The room was super clean and I am one who looks for small details, Well i gave up, i could not fault anything.
Breakfast was excellent, no waiting and the food was hot, no waiting for extra tea, coffee or toast.
We will be back.
A big plus point was the bus service 2 seconds from the hotel, leave the car and travel with the bus!
Gill.

Room Tip: number nine very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilleken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to be described as “the super hotel”. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning on coming to Portsmouth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    110
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
370
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here one Sunday night In August before catching the ferry. Great welcome from the reception lady - really helpful. Room was nicely decorated, bathroom very clean bed very comfy. We decided to head into Portsmouth (the hotel is in Southsea) - bit ofa walk (45 mins) to get to the wharf by the Spinnaker. We had to be up early for breakfast to didn't have time for the 'full hit' but what we had was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was nice to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you again next time for a longer stay. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked a room for the 18th September and we loved the hotel. The staff were very friendly and our room number 10 was fantastic.
Tea and coffee were available free of charge and the breakfast included in the price of the room was of a high standard.
I have already recommended the hotel to friends and family and we would use the hotel again

Room Tip: All rooms looked good but we stayed in number 10 and I would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review. It was nice to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at number 4 the night before my wedding! The staff were amazing!! They took customer service to another level!! Ssoooo attentive all morning while myself and my bridesmaids and guests were getting ready!! Nothing was too much trouble!! The hotel is beautiful and immaculate! I would recommend it to everyone I know! Will defiantly be back for our 1st year anniversary

Room Tip: All the rooms are different!! But all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We always enjoy having brides in our hotel. It makes us feel the part of the special day. Thank you so much for your lovely review and please contact us when you are planning to coming to Portsmouth – we will do our best to make your stay extra special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A comfortable small hotel with very friendly staff
nothing is too much trouble for them, we had two
very enjoyable days in Southsea at Number Four.
The evening meals were of a good standard and
we will certainly stay in a Mercer hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 6 very good. room 7 nearly as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for describing our hotel as “First class”. It’s always nice to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and liked the services provided! Best regard from our staff and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

When you keep on visiting hotels rated highly on TA, you start to realise that friendly first class service is a primary factor you will find. This big old house converted into a small hotel delivers a true boutique experience ticking all the right boxes.

The outstanding and enthusiastic staff (Mary, Jordan etc etc) are absolutely committed to ensuring guests’ needs are met and they deliver with great attention to detail. Jordan told me that she had previously worked in a large chain hotel and that job had been completely different. Here she felt she could really get to know the guests and make sure that they were really happy (and she would never work or stay in a big chain hotel again.)

The rooms were clean, up-to-date, good décor and extremely comfortable beds. I meant to look at the make of mattress to buy one for home! Our party had two rooms (Garden Suite and Room 6). Room 6 on the front was spacious and airy and if just my partner and I came again we would plump for that one rather than pay the extra for the Garden Suite.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first of our two nights but, unlike some other reviewers, we were not sufficiently impressed to skip the opportunity to try elsewhere the following night. The wine list was good value. On both mornings the breakfast was good (bacon and eggs option better than the full English which could have benefited from better quality sausage.)

We had drinks and coffees in the lounge both evenings. The ladies in our party thought the interior design of the lounge felt like a gentlemen’s club. The service of drinks in the lounge continued the high quality of service overall.

The parking out front was limited but this did not turn out to present any problems. We did leave our car keys with reception in case. The hotel is in a good location (short walk to seafront, short simple drive to Portsmouth attractions.)

Would and probably will stay again

Room Tip: Number 6 is upstairs at front and light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. It's always nice to know our guests enjoyed their stay. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were in room 4 and my adult son was in room 3. Room 4 was larger but both were comfortable in the style of an upscale European b&b. While smaller than some hotels we have stayed at in California, it was larger and less expensive than the place we stayed in London. (I called the Mercer group from the US about 3 months prior to our arrival and spoke to Ellie who was very helpful.)
My room was very quiet. We had a wonderful dinner and enjoyed the breakfasts.
Mary is a warm and friendly person who made us all feel welcome and offered us tea on arrival even though we were too early to check in. She took our bags and they were put into our rooms for us and waiting for us when we returned from a couple hours of touring.
This hotel is near the Esplanade and is about a 45 minute amble from the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (which made naval history and archeology buffs very happy)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltufromberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We enjoyed having your family here and it’s nice to know you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing