We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best night' s sleep ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
altea
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best night' s sleep ever”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the number 4 boutique hotel for just one night. We would happily have styaed for much longer but we we were due to sail on the ferry th next day Everything was perfect from the excellent beds the restaurant food and the superb breakfasts. The staff were exceptional.

Room Tip: I would reccommend that you book this hotel direct instead of a booking agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    110
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
370
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. My single room was tiny, but was tastefully decorated and had an extremely comfortable double bed; the shower worked well, but could have used a border to keep the water from overflowing into the rest of the bathroom. The breakfast was very good. The hotel sits on a residential street, and is just a block away from a nice little park with a lagoon, and is just a couple of minute walk from the water. I had a very enjoyable half hour or so walk to the Portsmouth Historical Dockyard to see HMS Victory and the Mary Rose museum, and I found a nice little pub in Portsmouth to have dinner. On my second night, I discovered that if I turned right out of the hotel (instead of left towards the water), there were several nice restaurants and pubs, and learned that it was only a 10-15 minute walk to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are coming to Portsmouth again and we would be more than happy to accommodate you again.
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The welcome we received was excellent and we were made to feel very special right from the outset. The room was very small but the bed was comfortable and our luggage did fit okay. We had dinner which was the best meal we had had for several weeks and the staff were kind enough to service breakfast earlier than the regular hours as we needed to continue on our travels early.
Mary especially could not do enough for us and her partner was brilliant in the dining room.
We wish the hotel all the best in this new venture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your good wishes. We hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Number Four, Our booking was last minute due to a change in our arrangements and fortunately the hotel were able to fit us in, with 20 minutes of booking we received a phone call to ask if there was anything we needed for our arrival. We were greeted warmly and each given a lovely glass of wine. We stayed in two different rooms (due to our late booking ) however both rooms were individually decorated and furnished to a high standard. Breakfast was great with a lovely menu to choose from with everything freshly cooked, I highly recommend the eggy bread. The staff were wonderful and a huge Thank You to Mary for her hospitality. A unique and high quality Gem! We will be returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you
Thank you for your review! It’s always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the services provided. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I were travelling from Newcastle to Portsmouth for the Santander crossing, however events on the A1 & M25 added 3 hours to our journey, meaning we missed our ferry by 45-mins. I jumped on TripAdvisor and opted for the highest rated - this very hotel.

I'd never heard of the hotel before, but to be fair it's quite new. From the outside, it feels a little like a B&B but its all boutique hotel inside. The furnishing is excellent, the rooms are very good, breakfast is superb, but most importantly, the staff are first class. Out of the 100 or so hotels I've stayed in, the service is on a par with New York's Mandarin Oriental which I had as my No.1.

We are back in July and we will most definitely be staying here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are really proud to be compared to your favorite New York hotel. It was nice having you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you in July.
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

we have just spent a couple of nights at Number 4 and it was stunning. The staff were so helpful and really could not do enough for us including our nine year old son Oscar, particular thanks to Mary who bought us fresh coffee first thing in the morning and treated our son like a king - he was most impressed!

The breakfast menu was impressive and very good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnalou26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Donna, Pete and Oscar,
We are family friendly hotel and we really like having kids around – we are pleased Oscar enjoyed being here. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you’re planning on coming to Portsmouth and we will be more than happy to see you again!
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for one night in this fabulous boutique hotel. The room was light, airy & spacious (no. 6). Beautifully decorated, with a luxurious double shower! Whilst we didn't take advantage of the dinner offered in the evening, we did have a superb breakfast. An added bonus was being offered fresh tea /coffee in our room with 'fresh' milk.... None of that kettle in the room, messing about with UHT. And the shortbread biscuits served with the tea were to die for! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel “fabulous”. We hope to see you again soon, so you could have our shortbread biscuits again.
Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing