We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and loved it here! The hotel is decorated in such a lovely way, our room was beautiful. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was of a really high standard as were the breakfasts. We went out on the second night and found lots of great places to eat and drink only a short walk away. The hotel is right next to 'canoe lake' which is lovely to have a stroll around and just set back slightly from the seafront. We loved our experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your reivew, we are pleased you liked the hotel and the setting too near the lake.

We hope to see you again.

regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    106
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
351
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned, with my 8-year-old son, from a fantastic three-day short break at this wonderful boutique hotel. Couldn't have asked for anything more! The rooms are fabulous, the food delicious, and the staff fantastic! Extremely child friendly, so much so that my son said he wants to live there for ever!!! Without a doubt, we shall be returning many times…

Special thank yous to Mary, Aqua and Louish (I hope the spellings are correct) for making our stay perfect :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear, although a little smaller, are very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you Mark and Daniel for staying with us at Number Four. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are happy to have Daniel move in anytime! We are looking forward to your return visit in May.

Thanks again

Aqua, Mary, Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very attentive and always seemed to want to help. A lovely change

Room was a little small but absolutely adequate and I think I paid for a smaller room anyway. Very clean. Great location. Really can't find anything to complain about

Breakfast was fantastic

Lots of little nice extras such as lovely toiletries, fresh coffee, homemade shortbread

I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you found staff helpful and attentive and enjoyed the other little touches at the hotel.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

we spent an overnight leisure break here on 3rd April.
The hospitality was excellent, the room was spacious, with a fresh feel to it,we didn't have tea making facilities in the room, but you only had to ask and a pot arrived very quickly- with fresh milk(not UHT).We had a good evening meal in the restaurant and a leisurely breakfast with everything freshly prepared.
We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Print70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, we are pleased you enjoyed your short trip. Whilst we don't provide tea in the rooms we are glad you liked the fresh complimentary tea provided to the room - I hope you tried the homemade shortbread too!

We hope to welcome you again

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

For my 50th birthday, we took this hotel with my wife, and i must say that this a wonderful memory.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was great!
We will come back for sure!!! Highly highly recommend the stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you will have some lovely memories of such a special birthday and hope to see you again.

Best wishes

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at the number four boutique hotel last week.

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Our room was breathtaking with very good attention to detail and it was spotlessly clean. The bed was very cosy!

You must try the food in the restaurant it was divine. The breakfast was also outstanding. Easily one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel and the restaurant. We are very pleased to be one of the best hotels you have stayed in - Thank You!

Come back and visit us soon.

Best wishes

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

People, if you looking fore a great place to sleep, eat and stay, you defenatly need to book the Number Four Boutique Hotel in Southsea. What a place to stay, beautifull hotel, interiour, lovely people, amazing good food. All the people from the hotel makes us feel like a king and queen, they are so nice, helpfull and make youre so comfortable, the hotel feels like a home away from home. From the verry first warm welcome till the day we check out was everything oke, nothing to much and give all the help, the hotel and the whole place us a verry verry good feeling. My wife and i where forgotten that there exist such good people. We can only say its a great place to stay and i gife them 10 stars.
Ton & Lies from the Netherlands

Room Tip: The hotel have 10 rooms, i wish i good sleep in all the rooms they are so beautifull, cosy, clean, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiesFracassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Tony and Lies,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we were more than happy to make you feel at home. It’s always nice to read such nice things about the hotel, so thank you once again for sharing your thoughts! And thank you so much for the pictures you sent us. Best regards from Mary and Aqua.

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing