We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$85
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$112
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$112
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
575
132
22
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
132
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerl'occitane toiletriessister hotelsmall hotelmercer collectionlovely hotelbreakfast in bedsitting roombreakfast was deliciousstayed longertea and coffeetop flooralbert roadon arrivalbus stoplovely roomno lift
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 740 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I travel to Portsmouth on a weekly basis for business and normally stay in Florence or Somerset house but on 2 occasions Ellie has moved me to number 4. Much to my delight! The rooms are beautiful. Ellie and her staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother. I am allergic to feathers and they always ensure my bedding is switched to non feather even to the point that on my first visit to this hotel they brought bedding up from a sister hotel! I also had fruit salad especially prepared for me on my last visit at breakfast without asking for it! (I always have this choice in the other hotel and they had remembered). This hotel is a must if you are travelling to Portsmouth. I can guarantee you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Lisa,
Thank you for such a lovely review! We always remember what our guests like! We know how much you like your fruit salad in the morning so our chef was more than happy to make it fresh especially for you. Thank you for staying with The Mercer Collection Hotels and I will see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a terrific hotel! The staff were first class and so kind and helpful. The food was excellent and the room was perfect. Would certainly stay again and highly recommend. My room was upgraded to Executive and I had the best sleep ever whilst staying away from home

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooksters121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to upgrade our guests whenever it is possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, found the room comfortable and food delicious. Please give us a call when you are in Portsmouth again and we will be happy to accommodate you again! Many thanks and see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This is not difficult. When you approach the building you could wonder what is instore for you. Walk in quickly and shut the door. Dont want anyone else to see how lucky you have been to find such a fantastic place. Fabulous staff, high quality fixtures and fittings at an affordable rate.
You have to try it if you are in the area.
And to my new friends I say Obrigado e Boa Sorte

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Olá Dave!
Thank you for taking a time to leave us such a nice review! It makes us proud to be described as “a fantastic place”. Our staff were happy to have you here so contact us next time you are in the area and we will be more than happy to see you again!! até breve!!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just got back from our stay in this incredible hotel. We booked a few days break for us to have a bit of a chill out session and have been overwhelmed with the hotel. The rooms are really lovely. They are very tastefully decorated. Infact the hotel has been completed to a very high standard of quality and comfort. It is a credit to the owners who have spent a lot of time and money getting the finish just right. We could not fault it. The staff were very professional and polite. They made our stay very memorable. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We can honestly say we WILL be returning in the very near future and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality, comfortable and amazingly special hotel.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Janet,
Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m very happy we could help you to relax and have some time off. We are committed to providing an excellent service to all of our guests so we are more than happy that you found hotel staff professional, polite, helpful and friendly. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the standard double and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully decorated. Staff were ever so helpful and breakfast delicious. Location was good for Southsea shops and attractions. Would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was nice meeting you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel suited your needs. Many thanks and we hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews