We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spinnaker Tower

Spinnaker Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.34*
and up
Emirates Spinnaker Tower Portsmouth Entrance Ticket
Ranked #6 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Please don't be put of going up the spinnaker tower if you are afraid of heights. I was reluctant to go at first as I don't like heights and lifts, but there is nothing to be afraid of. The lift was smooth and fast with a lovely young lady taking us up and telling us all we needed to know. Once up there you don't even realise how high you are and the views are amazing and not to be missed. We spent quite some time up there as there is so much to see and the more you look the more things you notice. There is plenty of info there, touch screens, audio guide etc . But if you need to know anything else the staff are more than ready to help and seem to have a vast knowledge of the area. . The café is on the 2nd floor and we enjoyed a nice cup of coffee which was brought to our table by another pleasant young lady. We spent a relaxing half hour here before returning to the lift to be brought back down again. It was well worth the money and we were told we could return as many times as we liked that day free of charge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your visit and had such nice experiences interacting with our team. I will make sure to pass on your compliments. I hope to welcome you to the Spinnaker Tower again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,837
    1,206
    395
    73
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Design classic, and great for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our third trip to Spinnaker Tower in 18 months. It's a great attraction and keeps our kids amused. If you sit in the café, which is on the same floor as the lift down, you can pretty much allow kids to amuse themselves, as they can't really come to any harm running between floors. I love the design of the tower, and would agree with other reviews as to the friendly and helpful staff. We have previously spent up to 2 hours up the tower, and it's a great half-day out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your trip to the Spinnaker Tower. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon. If you come often, it may be worth considering getting a members club card which entitles you to unlimited visits for a whole year!

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I loved the Spinicker Tower all the staff were friendly and helpful. The cost was average and better than most attractions these days. Other people moaning about all there is is views!!! What do you expect .......!!! The views are stunning and lots of easy to follow info of the surrounding area. We came down and the staff pointed out the Millenium Walk which we followed 6 mile round walk ending up back in the Spinicker cafe for afternoon tea........a brilliant day. The staff even remembered us on our second entry (free) and asked us about our walk ....lovely!!:)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower and that our staff were so helpful. That is exactly what we strive to deliver to each and every guest. I’m glad to see you took advantage of our unlimited free return visits with your day ticket. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely view, but quite expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I went here on a whim when i was walking around the Gunwharf Quays, i was quite surprised that it cost £9, quite expensive since you will not be spending any longer than an hour here. Nether the less it was a beautiful sunny day and the view was amazing. I would recommend you get a audio guide, most of the people up the tower did not seem to take one and i really adds to the experience to know the history of what you are looking at. The balcony is a bit disappointing as you can really see much because of the netting, however the real highlight is the glass floor you can walk across, it is an odd experience but well worth it.

I had fun, but £9 was a bit pricy considering i was there for about half an hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It’s great to hear that you took the time to listen to our free audio guides because as you rightly say, they definitely enhance your experience and allow you to explore the history behind the views. I hope you also took the chance to try out our i-VIEW screens, which showcase the views on interactive touch screens which also change to night-time mode so you can get the full Spinnaker Tower experience! Your £9 gets you unlimited return visits throughout the day, stunning views, the audio guides, i-VIEW and your passport to Portsmouth which includes a number of great discounts with shops, attractions and transport providers in the area. Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Suprise 40th Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent venue for a suprise birthday party. Champagne on the View Deck, disco downstairs, great food, really friendly staff and perfectly organised. Thoroughly recommend considering it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your event at the Spinnaker Tower. It really is a show-stopping venue and it’s fantastic to hear that you had such a great time. Our dedicate hospitality team work really hard to make sure events run perfectly so that everyone has a good evening. I will pass your compliments along to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the Spinnaker Tower again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnaker Tower also viewed

 

Been to Spinnaker Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing