We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spinnaker Tower

Spinnaker Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.65*
and up
Emirates Spinnaker Tower Portsmouth Entrance Ticket
Ranked #6 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great views.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Its a must at least once. The views are fantastic on a good day. See if you dare to walk on the glass floor!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gretan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower and well done for braving the glass floor! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,882
    1,234
    401
    74
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the glass floor”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Its the second time I have visited the spinnaker tower and enjoyed my visit just as much this time as the last.
Walking over the glass floor gave me such a strange feeling, it felt like I was walking in the air, and I loved it.
The view from the top is amazing and I took many photos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for this shining review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbotton, Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great way to see the harbour and get the best views of the area as a whole. The glass floor is fun and the crows nest can blow the cobs away. Little pricy but ok for the views.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank w_john_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower. It really is the best place to start when you visit the city as you get a great perspective on the area and can probably see where you’re headed next out of our windows! Thank you for your pricing comments, which I will ensure are considered in our next pricing review. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clues in the name”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

You expect to see views, and that's what you get. It is pricy however it really is worth it. When you think of the scale of what it took you to get to where you are, the price matches it. The views are good and the staff could be more adventurous, but being stuck up the top for hours on end must be a strain so credit to the staff. Reading reviews, the management seem to involve themselves a lot with the public and that is vital! It makes a world of difference when someone replies to a review and acts on it. In general the tower is a gift to gunwharf and the city, without it, the south wouldn't have a distinguished landmark and flag barer and for that, the trip to the top is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Chaza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We do try our best to listen to all feedback we receive from our customers as it is only with feedback that we can deliver the best visitor experience possible. We take your comments on board about our view deck hosts and will feed this back to our Guest Services manager. Your comments about us being a gift to the city is a huge compliment and has made our day! Thank you again for your lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must if you want to relax for an hour or more”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's £8.00 to go up this amazing tower but don't let it put you off even if its cold and you can't afford it!

The lift stops at the cafe, and their is no need to climb the stairs up to see the next two levels when you can sit in the warm and friendly fully glassed cafe.

The sights are totally awesome and you will find yourself sitting and gazing out those massive windows for ages!

It's the only way to see what Portsmouth is all about from the comfort of your chair and a coffee in one hand and your partners hand in the other,

Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Travelfriends1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It’s always great to hear that we have delivered our high standards of customer service and visitor experience. I will pass your comments onto our team. I look forward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps for one of our High Teas?

Sarah Webb, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnaker Tower also viewed

 

Been to Spinnaker Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing