We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break in luxury surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent break in luxury surroundings”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

All the staff from the moment we stepped foot in the hotel were so friendly and helpful. I pre-arranged flowers and champagne to be in the bedroom as a surprise for my girlfriend which was done. Although there was no evening restauarant in the hotel the reception staff recommended a couple of local restaurants. Breakfast was great, we went for the optional Full English which I'd thoroughly recommend. The room for breakfast was light and airy and set us up for the mornings shopping ahead.
At checkout I gave feedback to the reception staff and added we'd definitely go and stay there again. In my opinion a more personal service compared to the chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce_cleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    145
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
97
418
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The webiste promises all sorts and the hotel simply does nto deliver. We were over charged for our room, the hotel owner was rude, there were never any staff about to help with anything and the breakfast was poor.
We would not reccomend this place to anyone wishing to pay the rates you expect, have freindly service (or dinner which they advertise they do - but dont!) or anything decent to eat.
Waste of hard earned money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tilly-mae12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We left our New Year eve planning very late this year. We decided a few days before and booked Florence House Hotel online. Would found the hotel very easily using postcode and GPS.

On arrival we instantly given upgrades to larger rooms as we were moved the their hotel building on the otherside of the road.

The rooms are very well decorated, warm and very comfortable.

The service we received was awesome, when asking about breakfast our host basically said we could have breakfast at anytime that suited us. In fact during our 3 day stay we changed the time each day and was not an issue at all.

Our host also provided us with local information and ideas on what to do locally.

The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable. I would have no issue recommending this hotel to anyone. At this time of year (uk winter) the hotel represents excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohphilthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed 1 night on 2nd january,very good service and lovely rooms.Will return on next visit to southsea.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veaspaday79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at the Statton (?) hotel in Southsea part of the Florence/Somerset group just for one night while attending a wedding and were so pleased --wouldn't hesitate to return if the opportunity should arise in the futur, fantastic decor and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandsumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I booked a suite room at The Florence Hotel as I was impressed with their beautiful rooms and delicious breakfasts. The staff were lovely and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portsmouth.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma140182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darthtubby996
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Many thanks for making our wedding party most wellcome and across all three sites. The hotel was beautifuly presented with each of our rooms amazingly designed, each one vastly dfferent yet equally exceptional. Both Daniel and Mike were briliant, Daniel with the musical Rooms on our arrival, and Mike, who was a star looking after the returning bride and groom and their entorage, making sure that well catered for, he had recommendations for visits and resturants in the area during our weekend stay. A stunning exceptional boutique hotel, we will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthtubby996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing