We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly weekend, can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly weekend, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

From the time I arrived at Florence House until the moment I left, I was made to feel very welcome. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel is charming, and is located in an excellent part of Southsea, away from noise and traffic, but very close to the sea front and the attractions of the town. Excellent breakfast with a variety of options, but the highlight for me was the restaurant which was an unexpected delight. I would describe the food as 'notable' and well worth trying. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer than two nights, but I plan to return in the autumn, hopefully for a longer stay. I can highly recommend Florence House for a long or short break. .

Room Tip: Worth booking a small double if travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are always pleased when we hear guests have felt very welcome at our hotels. The hotel is quietly tucked away but close to all the main attractions here in Portsmouth. We are happy that you found the breakfast “excellent” and the restaurant “well worth trying”. We would be delighted to have you back at our hotel for a longer stay and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    144
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
409
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived very late on our day of check in so were pleased to have such a warm and friendly welcome from the guy at the desk - and to get upgraded to an Executive Double was a welcome surprise too. All the staff that we encountered there were just as friendly and welcoming, from the lady in the breakfast room to the lady who completed our check out the following day. Breakfast was great and the dining area was so much more than I has expected to find there. The room that we stayed in was in Somerset House across the way, comfortable bed and furnished to a good standard. Next time I am staying in the area this will definitely be first on my list of places to stay - I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DruHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

What a hotel. Good Value, Staff were very nice and always there to help. The room was beautiful bed very comfie shower is lovely good size. and the room and hotel was very very clean. only £4 in a cab to town or a nice walk by the sea. Breakfast was lovely did not have dinner but well next time. we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

It makes us really happy to read such nice things! Our aim is to make our every guest feel this way so thank you so much once again and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good value. Room was clean and bed comfie. Good size shower and L'occitane toiletries were provided. Breakfast was excellent. Had porridge followed by full English. The mushrooms were particularly good, being fresh and large. Plenty of choice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I totally agree with last review. We were met by very friendly girls who immediately found us a parking space and permit. When they discovered we were leaving very early to catch the ferry before breakfast service commenced we were offered a packed breakfast which we collected from the fridge before we left. It was very good!
We had dinner in the restaurant served by very efficient staff. The food and wine were superb. We would most certainly stay there again! A good beginning to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
One of our favourite compliments is to be described as a “Little Gem”. Thank you for taking a time to leave a review – we really appreciate it! Our team is looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed one night here whilst visiting our daughter who lives round the corner. I didn't expect this place to be sooo beautiful! The décor is fantastic and everything is spotlessly clean. The room we had was gorgeous and the bathroom was a dream, I could have spent hours just in the shower! The staff are very friendly and we were given a parking pass so that we could leave the car indefinitely in a space as parking is a bit of an issue around the area. Breakfast was fantastic, I don't usually have a cooked breakfast but I did here, my husband, who is Irish and loves a big breakfast, had everything on the menu and didn't eat the rest of the day! I thought the price was expensive when I booked but it really was worth it. Cant recommend this hotel enough, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review!

It’s always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the services provided. We are really proud of our chef and we hear a lot of compliments about our food.

Please contact us next time you are planning on visiting your daughter we would be happy to see you again!

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, South Wales Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed over night here, what a fantastic surprise.. From the greeting to the rooms, the food and the decor, were outstanding. The friendliness of the staff of this little bespoke hotel is genuine, there was nothing that I could fault. I'm a coeliac, and was expecting a few problems with food which would be the norm, but as I arrived I was assured that this was definitely not a problem... And it wasn't.!!!
If you are ever in this area, go and pay a visit, and you will see how beautiful and tasteful it all is.

Room Tip: Anyone as they are all different, but all very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila5942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review, we are very happy to find that you had an enjoyable stay and have described the greeting, rooms, food and décor as “outstanding”. Our aim is to ensure that every guest receives the highest level of service including any dietary requirements they may have. If you are in the area again please do not hesitate to give us a call to book your next stay, we would be more than happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing