We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really welcoming staff. Very lovely lady, Mary, ensured that we had the perfect stay in a beautiful room! The breakfast was very nicely presented with plenty of choice. Perfect location to the beach, shopping centre and restaurants. I would be more than happy to come back to this hotel next time I am in Southsea! Beautiful! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to read about our staff ensuring guests have a "perfect stay". We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    141
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
94
406
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at Florence House for 2 nights. Our 2nd stay there, and we had one at Somerset House once.
I have read some of the reviews on here and I am ASTOUNDED at the petty negative reviews people write. Some of them very derogatory.

I will firstly make a few minor points. Not negative comments just observations.
The room we stayed in, room 5 I believe, was lovely. Very clean and well appointed, huge wardrobe dresser and bedside cabinets, 2 armchairs. very spacious. Bathroom good size, plenty of replenished toiletries. window IS overlooked as someone has mentioned but i did not feel at any point that I was "seen" by people who live in the tower block quite a way away.!! The shower is at the far end of the room. The shower did slightly leak around the base but I mopped it up. no big deal. The room and bathroom did need a good lick of paint and a freshen up. But was CLEAN. The bed was uncomfortable and a bit "springy" and lumpy and the pillows were not good. The room was cold and had no heating during the whole stay.
Our friends stayed in the room opposite us on the top floor. We have previously stayed in that room. It was tired too, The floor tile was cracked, the vent above shower was clogged up with dust, handle hanging off wardrobe door, mattress and pillows not great.
Parking is at a minimum, You have permits. We have not on any of our stays ever had a problem parking.
The House is tucked away but on the first visit we made we found it no problem and we did not use sat nav at that time.
The breakfast is very nice and we had dinner on our first night which was delicious. And would definatley recommend.

The service at breakfast both mornings was slow. We had to wait quite a while once seated to get someone to ask what we would like and then wait again for a plate to help ourselves to the delicious breakfast. The waitress did not understand that we should have had banana and nuts and compote with our porridge and did seem stressed and confused we asked for it. She gave the impression she didn't know it came with the porridge and we were been fussy. But it arrived and was delicious. She was quite surly and did not smile or make eye contact at all. There was some confusion we observed regarding people ordering and choosing their eggs. One couple walking out after been quite rude and mean to their waitress. They could have handled it better and not embarrassed the waitress in front of us all, but the couple were genuinely frustrated from their experience.
So now to put all my points into perspective.....
Mary!!!!! wow. what a gem! She is amazing. From the moment we walked in she made us welcome and went out of her way to accommodate and help us.
I needed more or different pillows after a very uncomfortable night resulting in a neck ache. She was mortified to hear i had suffered and went on a hunt for pillows to sort it out there and then. I slept much better the 2nd night.
We could have quite easily asked Mary to put the rads on. But we chose not to as wasn't a big deal. OUR choice. But some people would have kicked up a stink when all they would need to do was ask!!
Mary changed our friends first room they were allocated the moment they requested to be nearer us, No fuss, and with a smile again. We all joked we had our own apartment up there, keeping our doors open and having room service whilst watching tv after a long day at the Christmas fair. Where else would you feel comfortable doing that!!
The breakfast area was busy and people didn't always turn up to their set time that THEY chose so ultimately things got slowed down and a bit confused.The young waitress who served us was overwhelmed and aware that some people were not been patient and making a fuss. So i can imagine she did not feel like smiling. But yet again Mary got onto things and went out of her way to help all the diners. And to resolve little issues.The woman does not stop smiling and working relentlessly to please. I believe that when the other Hotel is finished and opened this problem at breakfast will cease.
So, I believe that if the old mattresses and pillows in the rooms where they are an issue were replaced and that the rooms that are tired and need fixing are freshened up and given a good going over it will be perfect again like our first and second stay.
Maybe management could address the waiting staff not been very welcoming while serving breakfast. Just a little smile and not a frown when asking for what is on the menu or a plate. It does make a difference to your experience.
My own personal observation as I can compare it is that I enjoyed sitting by the fireplace on the sofas having a coffee reading the papers on our previous visits. But now due to demand the area is used for dining. Just my own little thing.
Its the service and attention to detail with making us all happy and comfortable that Florence House excel at.
It is not a b & b at all which some people have said. It is a boutique Hotel, which now offers a choice of place to stay. All kitted out with nice furniture and good sheets, great bathroom products, lovely food and a great welcome.
We will without doubt be going back and hope to enjoy the new Hotel when it opens.
Carry on as you are Florence House, But maybe note the little things that need addressing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl2007_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed one night in the Florence Hotel, although the room was very nicely furnished, it was at the very top of the house , we booked a deluxe room with jacuzzi, sloping ceiling ! Don't know how many times we bumped our heads, not recommended! Had we known this room was up so many flights of stairs we would not have booked it, had to go over the road for breakfast , given the menu to be told there was no smoked salmon, little much to offer on the lighter bites, opted for fried breakfast , my husband asked for some more beans to be told they had run out of them also, parking was also a problem , please could you state that it is on road parking with permit as we thought we would be parking in secure grounds , my husband cannot walk very far and we had to park about 50 yards away, pity it was such a disappointment needless to say we will not be back ,I would only give this " Hotel" a Bed and Breakfast rating,, Not recommended for the disabled.

Room Tip: Get a hotel with a lift, carrying cases up many flights of stairs not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you found the room to be up a number of stairs. Naturally when guests book direct we do inform them of the differing building levels but it is difficult when rooms are booked with online agents. The Edwardian nature of the building sadly prevents lifts and we advise guests to check the level of their room if they have a disability as unfortunately the building prevents us from being more disabled friendly (as with many older propertied). We do however always carry guest bags up the stairs. Once again regarding parking, we do offer both on and off road parking but, again, using a mass travel agent prevents us from being able to explain this as there is just two options - parking or no parking- As we have ample free parking on and off road we are unable to be more specific. We always explain this to our direct bookers. Generally spaces are directly outside the hotel or a few seconds walk away - no further - and staff are always on hand to assist with this.

I would advise when travelling with any disability or special requirement just calling the hotel prior to booking so they can give you the best advise to ensure you of an ideal stay. We have numerous ground floor rooms we would have been glad to book for you if stairs were an issue. and perhaps you could try us again as we are sure with the right room you would have a great stay

Best regards

All at Florence House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had booked for two nights at The Florence however upon arrival I was informed we would be staying over the road at The Somerset but would be returning to The Florence for breakfast. It was a mild inconvenience, as the weather was fine, but had I known this I would not have booked this hotel. I did book using an online booking site but spoke to the hotel prior to arrival where I could have been given this information. The bedroom and bathroom were stylish, clean and comfortable. There was an issue with the plumbing on the first night but it was dealt with quickly and as efficiently as possible with a bottle of wine thrown in by means of an apology. The staff were friendly, helpful and informative of the local area. The location is ideally situated for local attractions and a vast array of restaurants in Albert Rd approx ten minutes walk away. There was a good selection at breakfast which was all very tasty. Room service is efficient and reasonably priced. I would check as to where I was actually staying before booking here again though.

Room Tip: double check with the hotel as to which of their four hotels you are staying at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the room you were in and found our staff able to assist with your needs. We always allocate the best available rooms across our buildings to guests if we have extra availability and I'm glad you liked the room despite the review title. We are pleased you also enjoyed both breakfast and room service.

Thank you again for your time taken in reviewing the hotel.

Best regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Florence for 2 nights and found it to be one of the loveliest, most friendly, well appointed boutique hotels I've ever stayed at. I had a large room at the top of the property which had a desk perfect for working at and a sofa (and king size bed!) for relaxing on: the perfect combination! The staff could not do enough to ensure my stay was nothing less than wonderful, and they even have a small bar in the Reception area where you can buy a glass of wine to relax with in the evenings. It is a 5 minute walk from the sea and has plenty of free on street parking outside the hotel. I will certainly be returning! Thank you Ellie and everyone at the Florence!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you had a relaxing stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battersea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights to take part in the Great South Run. Had no idea how close the hotel is to the start/finish line. Lovely atmosphere with mainly other runners, sharing our running stories/finishing times. Had a comfy, spacious room and breakfast and times well catered for the serious joggers taking part in the run. Well done to manager, Ellie and her capable team.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StargazerBattersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We will be more than happy to welcome you again next year!

Best wishes,
All at Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at florence and somerset for the weekend of our wedding. Ellie and the team were simply amazing! Nothing was too much trouble and they really showed how much they cared about us all at this special time!! The rooms are gorgeous.. So beautifully decorated. The atmosphere was so relaxing ... We were all made to feel so welcome and comfortable. I cannot recommend the Florence /Somerset house more highly. We can't wait to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kate,

Congratulations once again and thank you for choosing Florence House Hotel for this special occasion! We were happy to be a part of your Big Day. Thank you so much for your kind words! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes for your family,
All at Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing