We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most Excellent Hotel”
Review of Florence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence House
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hello we stumbled across this Jem of a hotel a few years ago when our daughter started at portsmouth university we chose it for no other reason than its Name is the same as my Mother well wernt we lucky, warm and welcoming.
They now have four Hotels in Southsea and we have over the passed few years stayed at them all and they are equally delightfull, distinctive, comfortable, and unique.
You will want to come back!
Oho and the staff are lovely

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times and well just wanted to move in lol all the rooms are fantastic you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely words. It’s always nice to have you stay in one of our properties. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 746 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only stayed for one night but will definitely return for longer if we're in the Portsmouth area again. We stayed in room 3 - superior with jacuzzi bath. It was well worth the little extra we paid. It was beautifully decorated, large with a sofa and armchair and lovely bathroom. The bath was so relaxing!

My only gripe would be the cost of the hot breakfast dishes, more expensive than we expected so we declined but if they were of similar quality to the continental breakfast, no doubt they would be spectacular!

Room Tip: I would have thought that they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, liked the room and were able to relax in one of our Spa baths. We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A very enjoyable three day break in a relaxing setting. The staff were friendly and polite, the room was a good size, the bedding was very clean and the shower facilities were very good. The rooms were in general very clean, but a few tops of pictures etc... could have done with a dust. The breakfast was very good and the serving staff were very attentive. Overall a very pleasant small hotel, which we would be happy to revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! It’s always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the services provided. We’re sorry to hear about cleanliness issues, but it was brought to the attention of our housekeeping team. If you are coming to Portsmouth again, please contact hotel directly and we will be happy to give you a complimentary upgrade, so you would have one of our best rooms. It was nice meeting you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

disappointed on arrival to be asked "were you told you would be staying in different hotel?" apparently as couple and child the rooms in sister hotel somerset house were allocated as much bigger although we booked online for florence house. this meant we did not have small bar area to use in the evening and had to walk across road to have breakfast. luckily just freezing cold walk across road and not raining so just inconvenient. somerset house itself was just a house with pleasant rooms but no facilities at all. when prevaricated about staying were told might be able to stay in florence house as booked but would have to wait for manager to sort out. husband did not want to delay start to our short break so accepted given room reluctantly. believe florence house should ensure this is made clear to online bookers as room itself pleasant, clean and good value for price paid.
lovely toiletries in room but not so keen on glazed bifold doors.
staff v polite and rang to check when wanted breakfast as hotel full and breakfast area quite small for 2 premises. easy free parking in street with permit from hotel.

Room Tip: check which premises you will be located in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum8348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review. We’re sorry you were disappointed to be moved to Somerset House hotel. We always try to allocate families in Somerset House hotel, as rooms over there are more suitable for families and room service is available, so most of our guests really like it. Of course if people want to stay in Florence House Hotel, we are usually able to do that.
We’re glad you found hotel friendly and we hope to see you again in Florence House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. We were booked into the Florence House Hotel, but on checking in were told we were in the Somerset Hotel (Sister Hotel) across the road, which was no problem. The room was large,well furnished, clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast, served in the Florence House Hotel, was great. All members of the staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do too much for you. No need to go on and on, no complaints, excellent, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcs1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were due to arrive at around 2.30pm as we were going to a wedding at 3.30pm and the lady at the hotel kindly offered us an early check in, due to unforseen circumstances we didnt arrive in time to check in and had to go straight to the wedding but we called and let them know. Unfortunatley the weather was terrible blowing a gale and raining heavily but we popped back to the hotel around 7pm to be welcomed with a friendly smile and offered an upgraded room if we wanted in another building over the road. We declined as we were only staying the one night and having a spa bathroom wouldve been lovely but we werent really able to take advantage of this but it was really nice to have this offered. There was a small bar area and a beautiful lounge area which was very inviting. We stayed in room one which was tastefully decorated with flatscreen TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and a good amount of quality pillows too. The ensuite shower room was clean but was suffering a little from damp and had a little bit of a musky smell this was not a problem to us but could be in the future. The hotel called us a taxi and we went back to the Wedding. When we arrived back the room was really warm and i couldnt find any way to turn down the radiator once again not a major problem we just opened a window slightly and better to be warm than cold. Breakfast was served from 8am to 10.30 and meant we had a nice lie in, check out for 11am was fine. Breakfast was continental and this is where I have a slight problem in that a decent full english was (dont quote me with exact price) was approx £8.50 I think that was a little steep and we decided to just go with the continental which was all of good quality. I would have loved a cooked breakfast included this would have made it 10 (even if they put the room price up slightly) there was quite a selection of cooked options to choose from which was nice but i didnt notice anyone choosing them. Would i stay here again yes in a heartbeat in fact when we return to Portsmouth it will be top of our list. (To the owners please dont think im moaning ref the few things i mentioned we have been in you position and know things can make or break you on trip advisor) This is a great place to stay and we look forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review! We always try to upgrade our guests if it’s possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found hotel friendly and inviting. Please contact us again if you’re planning on coming to Portsmouth – it would be nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed one night at this little boutique hotel. The young lady at reception was very helpful and welcoming as were the staff at breakfast. I stayed in an executive double room which hosted a king size bed and small 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was quite small but adequate although if you were staying longer then having no where to unpack your toiletries might be a pain. The shower was a reasonable size but have to say the 'power shower' was a little disappointing as it was lacking in 'power'. All that aside though it was very clean and had lovely large bath sheets which were white and fluffy. All in all a lovely little hotel but watch the prices - we were lucky enough to book just the day before and got a good £30 off. A very pleasant stay in a very clean hotel (yes I did the finger dust test) and would recommend it and certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had room 2 and no complaints other than the disappointing shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am glad to hear that, apart from the shower, all was enjoyable with the stay. We are glad we passed the finger dust test - this is something we feel an absolute priority - cleanliness is a must!

many thanks and hope to see you again

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,214 reviews
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#10 of 39 in Portsmouth
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
986 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $81 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site Fine Dining Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea serving a stunning menu ideal for a special meal or a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms with a homecooked fresh menu, ales, ciders and fine wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Florence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing