We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 out of 10 A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were due to arrive at around 2.30pm as we were going to a wedding at 3.30pm and the lady at the hotel kindly offered us an early check in, due to unforseen circumstances we didnt arrive in time to check in and had to go straight to the wedding but we called and let them know. Unfortunatley the weather was terrible blowing a gale and raining heavily but we popped back to the hotel around 7pm to be welcomed with a friendly smile and offered an upgraded room if we wanted in another building over the road. We declined as we were only staying the one night and having a spa bathroom wouldve been lovely but we werent really able to take advantage of this but it was really nice to have this offered. There was a small bar area and a beautiful lounge area which was very inviting. We stayed in room one which was tastefully decorated with flatscreen TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and a good amount of quality pillows too. The ensuite shower room was clean but was suffering a little from damp and had a little bit of a musky smell this was not a problem to us but could be in the future. The hotel called us a taxi and we went back to the Wedding. When we arrived back the room was really warm and i couldnt find any way to turn down the radiator once again not a major problem we just opened a window slightly and better to be warm than cold. Breakfast was served from 8am to 10.30 and meant we had a nice lie in, check out for 11am was fine. Breakfast was continental and this is where I have a slight problem in that a decent full english was (dont quote me with exact price) was approx £8.50 I think that was a little steep and we decided to just go with the continental which was all of good quality. I would have loved a cooked breakfast included this would have made it 10 (even if they put the room price up slightly) there was quite a selection of cooked options to choose from which was nice but i didnt notice anyone choosing them. Would i stay here again yes in a heartbeat in fact when we return to Portsmouth it will be top of our list. (To the owners please dont think im moaning ref the few things i mentioned we have been in you position and know things can make or break you on trip advisor) This is a great place to stay and we look forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review! We always try to upgrade our guests if it’s possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found hotel friendly and inviting. Please contact us again if you’re planning on coming to Portsmouth – it would be nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Florence House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 720 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed one night at this little boutique hotel. The young lady at reception was very helpful and welcoming as were the staff at breakfast. I stayed in an executive double room which hosted a king size bed and small 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was quite small but adequate although if you were staying longer then having no where to unpack your toiletries might be a pain. The shower was a reasonable size but have to say the 'power shower' was a little disappointing as it was lacking in 'power'. All that aside though it was very clean and had lovely large bath sheets which were white and fluffy. All in all a lovely little hotel but watch the prices - we were lucky enough to book just the day before and got a good £30 off. A very pleasant stay in a very clean hotel (yes I did the finger dust test) and would recommend it and certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had room 2 and no complaints other than the disappointing shower
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am glad to hear that, apart from the shower, all was enjoyable with the stay. We are glad we passed the finger dust test - this is something we feel an absolute priority - cleanliness is a must!

many thanks and hope to see you again

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was tastefully furnished and comfortable, the shower cubicle could have been cleaner though. Our original room was across the road so we had to walk outside for our breakfast which wasn't very nice, also our first room was very noisy being next to the front door but we complained and they moved us the next day to a lovely room at the top of the main house - the shower cubicle in this room was also not very clean. But all in all it was a great stay and when we go to Portsmouth again we will stay at Florence House.

Room Tip: Room 6 at the top of the house was very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copperfieldsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. I see you were upgraded on arrival to one of our Super King rooms, I am sorry this was noisy for you but glad you could then move to another Superior which suited you better. We will certainly be addressing the fact you found shower trays not up to our standards.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the top 5 in Portsmouth for a reason. It was clean, cosy and fairly priced. My bed was very comfortable and the room spacious and clean. I had a lovely view from my bathroom across the houses. It really could not be faulted.

Breakfast was very tasty and the staff accommodating. Unfortunately, my colleague and I had a few problems with our hire car when there (unrelated to the hotel), but the staff made a point of checking we were ok/if we needed any help.

Overall if I returned to Portsmouth I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed everything about the stay and hope to see you again.

Best regards

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stuck in Portsmouth due to bad weather we were lucky enough to find this fantastic boutique hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and arranged a breakfast to go for us as we had to leave very early the next morning. Rooms were spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The bed was lovely with white crisp bedding and fluffy pillows. The bathroom had luxury toiletries and huge towels. We stayed in room 7 which had everything we needed, TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities and free WIFI. We will definitely stay here again and have no hesitations in recommending this fantastic little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad we could help you when you were stranded in Portsmouth! Breakfast to go is certainly popular and I am pleased you could take advantage of this and enjoyed the room allocated.

We hope to welcome you when you are next stopping in the area.

Best wishes

All at Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having tried it's sister hotel Stattons (across the road) last year. This time my wife and I decided to try Florence for one midweek night.
We had (mid priced) room #2. Which is the blue one pictured top left on their website gallery.
It is over the front door and faces the road. But you'd struggle to tell that as it was so quiet and peaceful. Beatifully decorated with it's white furniture. The bed is quite ornate, but not over the top, and was pretty comfortable. We both slept well.
The en-suite is very narrow, and features a shower, basin and toilet. Be careful bending over when getting dried. You may burn your backside on the towel rail!!!!
The door to the en-suite needs shutting properly or it will swing open to totally obscure view of the wall mounted tv when lying on the bed.
The shower I have to say was pretty weak. But certainly clean, like the rest of the hotel.
A decent continental breakfast was included. With Full English available at a supplement.
Parking, as others have said is on the street with a provided permit. It works. I didn't get a ticket from the warden.
Would I go back??? Yes. I am in July. Already booked.

Room Tip: The middle priced rooms have a settee. Cheaper ones I'm told do not.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveNorthampton.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review we are pleased you found your room clean, quiet and comfortable. I'm glad parking was no issue for you and you enjoyed our breakfast service too.

We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Summer.

Best regards

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I say away a lot with work so spend a lot of time in hotels, usually I stay in chain hotels to get the loyalty points but this hotel is just too nice to miss. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and the service is always great. They even brought the take out I ordered up to my room for me with a tray and knife and folk. I've stayed here several times both with work and with my partner and its been great every time, great breakfast selection with peanut butter! Of the times I've stayed there no annoying kids ether which is always a plus. Great for both work and for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisScott1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us a review - I'm pleased the hotel suited you for both your business and leisure needs.

We hope to welcome you and your partner again.

Kind regards

All at Florence House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 39 in Portsmouth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $88 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing