We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worn”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the last minute and was described as a boutique hotel on booking.com. On arrival had a pleasant greeting and was told to park over the road at the sister hotel. The place itself was worn and was in need of refurbishment as the room was not as shown on the photos on the website. We booked it as a spa room but the bathroom again was worn and after filling the spa bath it did not function !. Continental breakfast was in the price and was reasonable. I realised On getting home I had left my ipad charger in the room so I sent an email requesting it be sent to me in the post, so far I have had no reply. Was interested in staying in a "boutique" hotel however I was disappointed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, as we noted in an email to you, we never received the note about your charger and the email was found in "junk" after reading your review. As we have very low spam filtering due to enquiries from email addresses all over the world we rarely check our junk file. Had we received it, it would have been responded to immediately as we have someone who deals with emails all day and night. We do hope the charger was received.

I am also sorry you were unhappy with parking. Parking at our sister hotel is a nice “extra” for some of our guests who enjoy the convenience of a car park just opposite the hotel when we do not advertise as having one, instead offering street parking and a small off-road area for Florence House guests. I am sorry if it did not come across this way.

Regarding the spa bath it was not brought to the attention of staff that it was not working on Saturday. No guests have had a problem since though it is possible the external switch which is located in the bedroom may have been off – had staff been told they could have quickly resolved this for you. We would not sell any guest a spa bath room if the spa element knowingly did not work as this would be completely unacceptable. We are glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast on offer.

Staff said throughout your stay and upon check out there appeared to be no problems and you seemed happy with everything on offer. We are sorry the stay disappointed you.

Kind regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    145
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
97
417
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Florence for one night as part of a birthday celebration. We received a warm and efficient welcome on arrival, check in was straight forward and we were shown to our room by the receptionist. We stayed in room 2 and it was perfect, very pretty and comfortable with refreshments and a kettle provided. We were given a key to the front door as well as to our room so we could come and go as we pleased which was great as we went out to dinner in the evening. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, really yummy poached eggs!!
All in all a lovely stay and we will definitely come again, thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winton40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebration stay and everything met your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Almost don't want to write this review, tempted to keep this hotel a secret!! I chose it because as a lone female business traveller I am sick and tired of faceless large hotel chains not providing good value for money. My employer foots the bill, but I still care about good value. I cannot find fault with this hotel, my stay was perfect. Nice staff, immaculate rooms, gorgeous bed linen and the fluffiest, huge white towels. Beautiful toiletries, free wifi, good tv channel selection, free parking absolutely perfect. Parking it tight, but they have spaces around the back for three cars, plus permits for on road parking. It's a residential area so it is really quiet (bliss). Just hope they have space when I visit again. If the hotel was looking for suggestions, I would say slippers and a desk to work at in the room rather than a chest of drawers. Please note, it's a suggestion, NOT a complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for an exec double, mine had a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you liked the hotel and everything met your needs. Thank you for letting us have your feedback on improvements too, this is always appreciated.

Once again, thank you and please visit us again soon!

Kind regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has lovely rooms some with showers some with free-standing baths which ours had which was lovely. Very relaxed atmosphere and nice smiley staff. I would certainly recommend it and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobylens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are pleased you had a relaxing stay with us! Thank you for your review and photos.

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel brilliant with very pleasant Staff, clean,stylish,peaceful, breakfast, wifi tv,room and great shower, towells bathroom, coffee tea, etc. 10 stars....... Will be going again...... We have been to many hotels in and around southsea, and portsmouth this one is a must...... perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet-setters64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. To be described as a "perfect place" is so kind and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to meet you again soon.

Best wishes

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First time stay but hopefully not the last. Although an extora cost the cooked breakfast was good value. Staff very helpfull.
Intresting view from bathroom and only a 10 minute wall to Sorpamos Italian Resturant which was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realisticpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed this quite King room and found the hotel nice and quiet for you. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Absolutely delightful stay, very comfortable. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We even got a packed breakfast as we had to leave for the channel ferry before brakfast was served! Couldn't comment on the breakfast served as we only stayed the one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan-Ducis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a good stay before your trip and we were able to provide a breakfast to go for you. Please come back to us on your next journey.

Kind regards

All at Florence House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing