We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined at the end.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ruined at the end.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for one night due to watching a band at the pyramid. It was excellent location for what we needed. On arrival the service was very good, we got offered our bags to be carried to our room and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are very clean, a bit on the small side as the pictures on their website are very much photo edited, to make them appear something there not. After watching the band we lost our key unfortunately. The staff were very helpful and gave us a spare with no problems. On the morning of the next day we got served a continental breakfast in bed, complementary of our stay, which was very nice. However as we handed our keys in on our departure and apologies about losing the key, they tried to charge us £25 which I thought was absolutely outrageous as this would cost them £5 tops! So left on a very negative note!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenwallos006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I feel the need to correct a few inaccurate points to ensure readers receive an accurate picutre of your stay.

Firstly all pictures are taken on a wide lens to ensure the full view of the room is shown with all features from the door as you enter to the wardrobe on the opposite side of the room.

Just as reception was due to close I understand the hotel was called and you had become separated from your boyfriend and had no key. We gave you the spare set and asked for both sets to be returned. On the morning you reported the key missing and we asked you to just double check all bags as we would be required to charge for these as stated on booking and on a notice by reception. You never returned to reception.

When a key is lost the front door lock has to be changed as anyone could pick up your key set access the hotel and then access a room a guest is staying in. Changing a front door lock and the lock of a room takes considerable time and also far more money than the £25 you note. The inconvenience of having to issue a new front door key to guests already staying and change all key sets is also time consuming and costly. The cost is far from "Absolutely outrageous."


When we came to the room to see if we could find the keys we found vomit on the carpet in the main room which required cleaning out and in the bathroom too. No damages to the carpet were charged despite this naturally taking more time and effort by our housekeeping team to clean prior to the next check in.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    144
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
409
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My office manager gave me a choice; "Premier Inn or quirky boutique". I am always nervous about low price private hotels, but for various reasons took a chance. What a delight. Wonderfully polite and helpful staff, big (big) room, clean, tidy, free wi-fi, comfy bed. Couldn't have wished for better. This is a rival for hotels twice its size. Thoroughly recommended and if I need a hotel in Portsmouth again this will be first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased the hotel suited your needs as a business customer and we hope to welcome you back on another trip.

Many thanks

Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Writting this on the second night of our stay we have been given a room in one of the sister hotels the somerset room 6 generaly room is great for the two night stay nice bathroom with a roll top bath plenty of space in the bedroom area one comment to make though as this room is in the attic space the ceilings are sloped so please be careful perhaps hotel could warn guests about this as the wife has bumped head a couple of times. Had the comp breakfast which was usual continental fare there is cooked available on request at a charge. Plenty of tea n coffee in room bed is not a comfortable as i have slept in past hotels but the wife liked it one great bonus the bath sheets are very big great to find in a hotel room.
Would we stay again my answer would be yes but i would ask not to stay in room 6 in the somerset one more great thing is that this hotel does leave it's rooms open if they are vaccant for you to have a little nose around they have plenty of lovely rooms well worth the money £150 for two night stay inc breakfast i can see why this hotel are high in the list of hotels staff wise did not have a great amount of contact with them but the staff we met are most polite.
Keep up the good work hope to stay again someday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the stay although I'm sorry you found the ceiling a little low. The design of the Edwardian building is not always ideal for our taller guests!

Many thanks

All at Florence House Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had turned up at the local hostel and was unhappy with the grime and slime. Late at night I knocked on the door of this hotel, and I was welcomed in with open arms. There had been a last minute cancellation. I was offered a wonderful superior double with breakfast in the building across the road. I felt like I had died and gone to heaven. The room was clean and the staff were so helpful. Breakfast was served across the road. Cooked breakfast was charged at £8.50 but the continental breakfast was inclusive. Food was hot and the breakfast service was good. I was given a parking permit for my stay. I was delighted to have found this place at short notice whilst travelling up overnight for the Great South Run. I will return.

Room Tip: Loved every minute of it here-will definately return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are very pleased we were able to rescue you from the other property! Thank you for your kind words - we are very pleased you had a restful night before such an important event and found everything to your satisfaction.

Many thanks

All at Florence House Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Florence House Hotel for two nights whilst in Portsmouth visiting family and doing some sight seeing. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. We stayed in Room 6 and were impressed with the space in our room and the decore. The bathroom was lovely too. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were pleased to be able to open windows to allow fresh air in the room.

Breakfast was perfect for us but it was nice to have the option to have a cooked breakfast if we wanted one. The breakfast room was bright and airy and the staff were again very friendly and efficient. We had a couple of drinks at the small bar before going out for dinner on the first evening which was very pleasant.

The position of the hotel is great. We walked down to the sea front and then walked all the way to the historic harbour following the 'chain' pavement. It was a lovely walk through very interesting parts of Portsmouth and the Gunwharf and historic harbour areas.

We loved Florence House Hotel and would certainly stay again. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed the stay with us and found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Room 6 is a popular room and we are pleased you found it suited you and was nice and spacious.

We hope to welcome you back on another occasion,

Kind regards

All at Florence House Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I only stayed here for one night at the end of September - but loved the place.

Arrived quite late, just after 10pm and staff were still happy to make us a quick dinner with wine and show us to our rooms. I was in the attic room which was gorgeous. Huge bed, lounge area, lovely bathroom with roll top bath, the whole room was furnished really nicely.

Would defintely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, I'm glad we were able to prepare dinner for you when arriving late and you found the hotel suited your needs and was comfortable.

Best wishes

All at Florence House Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Actually had booked the sister hotel "Statton's" but received a phone call to say that we would be moved to Florence House and asked if that would be ok. I was assured that the standard was the same and that we would be in an upgraded room so I agreed. Great communication! Very helpful and friendly staff and warm welcome.....helped with parking etc. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely continental breakfast included but decided to pay extra for cooked breakfasts. Excellent quality food (ie fresh tomatoes and mushrooms and real butchers sausages and bacon...and reasonably priced) beautifully cooked and well presented. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm glad we could offer you a room at Florence House (sister property to Stattons Hotel) in an upgraded room. We are very pleased you found the food of excellent quality and well presented - we take great pride in our food service.

We'd love to welcome you back in the future,

Kind regards

All at Florence House Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing