We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$83
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
$98
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
$120
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$76
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$104
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
$126
$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 07/27
$169
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
242
32
14
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
32
14
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercer collectionmercer group'the kitchen'gastro pubparking permit to parkhotel groupl'occitane productssmall problemfarmers breakfastflorence armssea frontwould definitely stay here againcomfortable bedquiet areasuperb breakfastbeautiful hotelhighly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 288 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We stayed in the "pink" King room at Florence Gardens in May.

PARKING: We were lucky enough to find a spot in their private lot.
LOCATION: Quiet neighbourhood; easy walk to the seaside and restaurants. You must drive to get to the Historic Dockyard.
HOSTS: Staff were very pleasant and helpful, from booking to breakfast to check-out.
BED: This is where they lose a star, because we did not find the mattress very comfortable, sort of hard and springy. Sheets and towels were nice though! Our room had an "airy" feel to it, and was spacious with lots of windows we could open. No noise was heard at night.
BATH: A pleasant bathroom, if a little small. Really nice toiletries provided (L'Occitane). Shower only.
BREAKFAST: 10/10, the best English breakfast I have ever eaten. Dining room was nice, with garden view.

Thank you for a nice stay!

Room Tip: The king room with pink accents was quiet and beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Lylie, thank you for your kind review of our Superior "Pink" Room.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The seafront is indeed just a moments walk away, which you can use to take a leisurely stroll up to the Historic Dockyard!
We are sorry to hear that you did not find the mattress the most comfortable and we will certainly look into this. Our guests comfort is of the utmost importance to us and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again, to receive the best rate and personalised room selection, just contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Florence Gardens is a lovely small addition to the Mercer collection. Our double room was small but well decorated. The one big down side was the shower temperature control that was stuck on hot, which on a stuffy morning was an extremely frustrating start to the day. We also dined in the Gastro pub, which was a great dining area but the food was very very average. We did mention both points but staff brushed them both off pretty quickly. So all in all a very nice stay but ..........

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Graali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Other at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear about the shower temperature - this sounds very odd. Had you dialed "0" for reception at the time we would have gladly quickly come and taken a look and resolved this swiftly for you so you could have continued with your shower at the appropriate temperature. We will certainly pass your other feedback onto our Gastro Pub and our apologies that your feedback was not taken onboard - without further information it is difficult to comment on this aspect of your stay.
We hope to welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is part of a collection of the Mercer group - all of their up-market accommodation is around the few streets in Southsea so you can't go wrong. The Garden Boutique rooms were lovely and modern and nicely decorated. The breakfast room was lovely and so too the food. Round the corner is the pub owned by the chain and here you can get great lunch/dinner/drinks. There is a fine dining option at 'the kitchen' should you prefer.
Southsea itself is a nice little town in itself. It has plenty of restaurants, bars and a John lewis and Waitrose amongst other shops. There is also the aquarium.
Its a £5 taxi to Portsmouth harbour where you can do all the dockyard tourist things or shop your heart out at the big outlet.
We liked coming back to Southsea rather than staying at the more generic hotels in Portsmouth.
Would definitely stay here on another visit!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased that you found both your room and the food to your liking
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to Southsea. Just remember to call so that we can offer you the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on my own ... lovely hotel with parking next to the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.My room was lovely and big with nice furnishings and large comfortable bed.
Breakfast cooked to order with a nice choice on the menu.
Would definitely stay again if in the area - better than some of the large chain hotels !

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank KazzaC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

We appreciate your kind review.
With individually decorated rooms, an A la Carte cooked breakfast, L'Occitane toiletries and our own Gastro Pub, (to name but a few things) we do strive to provide a quality stay for our guests and offer something with more character and charm than larger chains, so we are very pleased that you found this to be the case!
We look forward to welcoming you back, please contact us directly so that we can offer you the best rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

I have recently got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel with my girlfriend. We were both very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and polite and they couldn’t do enough for you! The room itself was to a high standard but it could of done with a fan in there as we had the bank holiday heatwave and our room was over looked by a tower block of flats so the bathroom could of done with either frosted glass windows or a blind!
Would definitely visit again and would highly recommend.
If you like a cracking breakfast then this is the place for you

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank bevyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear guest, we appreciate your kind words.
We are always on hand to help and had you called, we would have happily provided you with a fan. For future reference, you can call for assistance by using the in-room phone any time!
We look forward to welcoming you again, just contact us directly to ensure the best room allocation for the best price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews