We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A delightful find”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is really three separate Victoria fronted houses on Malvern Road. We had room number 2 in number 4 Malvern Road. A fabulous room catching the afternoon sun. Very comfortable with a rain shower. Breakfast downstairs a perfect set up for a day out on the sea front just a short walk. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Middlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you liked the room and found the breakfast a perfect set up for the day. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    28
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
141
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

3 Large houses have been combined and refined/ extended into the most stylish, comfortable , roomy accommodation you could wish. So far ,so excellent but what makes the stay a 5 star experience is the staff who are friendly ,efficient and attentive. We had 3 people in the party with different allergies . They were forewarned but never forgot. Nothing was too much trouble.. There was an excellent restaurant

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
It’s always a pleasure to read our guests describing the hotel as “excellent and 5 star”! We are also glad to hear you found our staff friendly, efficient and attentive. Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a superb experience staying at this hotel. We arranged our stay for three nights to attend a family wedding and from the moment we arrived at Number Five we were made to feel extremely welcome. All of the staff were very friendly and they couldn't have been more helpful to make our stay so enjoyable. The restaurant was excellent with lovely food and wine. We will be back for another mini break later in the year

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff aim to make guests feel at home and welcome, so we are pleased you found our staff very friendly and helpful. We are very proud of our chefs and we are delighted that you found the restaurant excellent- this is what we hope for! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had a family celebration in the restaurant, the staff were so accommodating and friendy. It's hard to find genuinely good places to eat these days as everywhere is branded, but you will not be dissapointed here, it's quite clear the chefs are talented and passionate about food as the dishes we had were flavoursome and beautifully presented!
We will definately be visiting again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkysimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our food in the restaurant and described it as “flavoursome and beautifully presented”. We are very proud of our chef and we are always glad to hear compliments about our food. We are pleased all our staff made you feel welcome and we look forward seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, my wife and I were hoping for a relaxing break after a very busy time for us, this hotel was perfect. A nice relaxed atmosphere, lovley rooms and nice professional staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaGlyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are very happy we could help you to relax at our hotel. We are committed to providing an excellent service to all of our guests, so we are more than happy that you found our staff professional and the hotel to have a relaxing atmosphere. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed hotel with really friendly staff. The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in, light, bright and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and deliciously comfortable. Food in the restaurant was imaginative and beautifully prepared.
The bathroom and shower were to the same standard as the rest, styling and spotlessly clean. We will definitely come back here again. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveHermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hotel being immaculate, so we are glad to hear you found the room spotlessly clean also the bed "huge" and "comfortable". Thank you once again for taking a time to leave a review and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

As a regular visitor to Portsmouth i always like to stay somewhere a little different and this wonderful hotel was just perfect! The decor is superb and our room was beautifully furnished with a super comfy bed and a really lovely seating area. We ate in the restaurant and the atmosphere was relaxed and unrushed, not to mention the food which was excellent, good on price and of five star quality.The staff cannot be faulted and the service was impeccable. After talking to Mary about the plans for the gardens we will most definitely be back in Summer!

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the building so was very quiet and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We are glad you found the restaurant excellent, a good price and of five star quality. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service, so we are pleased to hear you found the service “impeccable”. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing