We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small is Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small is Beautiful”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We wanted a relaxing, easy going break away to recharge, and we found what we were looking for in a beautifully renovated Edwardian house.
The staff, right from our arrival, were extremely courteous and professional but with a friendliness beyond the norm.
We booked a superior room that was very comfortable, good bed and a large shower.
We had a small problem with the TV in our room, someone was with us within 5 minutes to review and fix the problem, what more can you ask.
The food in the restaurant is very good, with one or two unusual twists that made the menu just that bit more interesting.
The hotel location is within a 20 MPH zone and is very quiet, parking is either on the hotel land or by means of a free parking permit issued by the hotel reception.
We would recommend the Mercer Collection in Southsea / Portsmouth as ideal for easy access to the many tourists attractions within walking or short ride distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Firstly, thank you for your review of our hotel we really appreciate it and we are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay. We are glad you were able to relax and take some time off; we are also pleased you decided to dine at our restaurant too. Thank you for recommending us this is a huge compliment! We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    28
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
146
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm not a big traveler so business trips for me are quite exhausting, and there is no place like home. It is hard for me to relax in new places.
Yes everything was on a high level, might even say that on very high level. But what surprised me while staying at #5, were the sweet though out room details and really warm personnel. Though still not like home, but close enough.

BTW office administrator received a big treat for choosing this #5 for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vytautas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you found your stay suited your needs and we are pleased you liked the room details. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've stayed with The Mercer Collection before and it was a pleasure to come back and try their newest property. Perfect as always: first class reception, clean rooms, delicious food. I'm looking forward to staying with you again. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you liked our new hotel and found the room clean and the food delicious. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beautiful Edwardian villa tastefully and thoughtfully refurbished. The bedrooms are very well appointed, very clean and the bed very comfortable. The local water doesn't lend itself to the best cuppa, but the excellent breakfast will more than compensate. A wonderful stay, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoultonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased you appreciated the hotels décor and breakfast. It’s a huge compliment that you would recommend us- we really appreciate it! Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The service was outstanding and the staff are really friendly, they couldn't of done more to accomadate me.

Rooms are really clean and tidy with Great interior.

Food in the restaurant was superb, more like a michelin star restaurant than a hotel.

Would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. 10 out of 10.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
This is one of the greatest compliments to hear that we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in- we really appreciate this. We strive for perfection in our hotels with spotless clean rooms and aiming to provide the highest level of service for our guests. We are thrilled you found our staff really friendly and that they couldn’t have done more to accommodate you. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My fiancé and I had our valentines dinner here. It was both our first time at the restaurant which I found online. The meal and the service were superb, and the staff went out of there way to make it a special experience, one of the best meals we have had in Southsea. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omotayo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review! Our team always do their very best to ensure guests at our restaurant and hotel receive the perfect service. We are delighted to read that you had a special experience and that it was one of the best meals you have had in the area. We are very happy you decided to have your valentine’s dinner with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here as a last minute stay after our ferry was cancelled and were delighted with what we found. The parking isn't great (in the street outside), but once inside this all melts away. The room was nicely furnished, and the breakfast in the morning was fresh and high quality. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was very nice on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianwesthampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are thrilled to hear you would stay again and that you liked our breakfast- next time we would be delighted if you were to try our dinner menu too! Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing