We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent seafront location within 10/15 minutes walk from Gunwarf Keys, train station and Southsea Main Street where there was lots of restaurants, pubs and some shopping. A short £4 taxi ride from the naval base which was the purpose of our visit.

Standard high quality, clean rooms that you would expect from any premier inn and cracking value in comparison to other hotels in the surrounding area. Staff were friendly, approachable and always happy to help.

Did not visit the adjoining pub so can't really comment although a taxi driver we used said it 'wasn't fantastic' take from that what you will but I would expect it to be pretty standard inline with most others in the Brewers Fayre chain.

Even though the inn is right next to some amusement/arcades where there is crazy golf and a (very) small rollercoaster for kids we heard no noise and this shut down early in the evening. It was February when we were there though so may be worth bearing in mind if visiting in the height of summer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strogauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    259
    122
    38
    19
See reviews for
232
307
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visit this Premier Inn twice a year and the friendliness and service is always excellent, only the terrible weather spolied our trip this time. but we will be back in the summer.Our room was warm and comfortable - the food in the Brewers Fayre good value especially the themed buffet meals.. Welcoming and efficient reception..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have stayed in Premier inn many times
Very friendly staff
Limited car parking spaces but I have never had a problem parking there
The rooms are a good size & clean & tidy
flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities
Bathroom is all so clean & tidy & well lit
Not so good is only 30mins of free wifi then you have to pay extra!!!!
We had a room overlooking the funfair &sea
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellows6269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Was staying 3 nights in Portsmouth for a friend's wedding. Very good location and service the whole time.

Location was ideally placed in Southsea where most things you would want to see are walk-able (weather permitting of course). Staff friendly and very informative of local information.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was spotless the bed comfy every thing was just as described, would definitely go again. It is right on the sea front and handy for all entertainments

Room Tip: Just book and take pot luck, all rooms are of same guality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
651 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Overall an average Premier Inn but let down by sloppy service at breakfast. How hard can it be to correctly record a breakfast order? My cooked breakfast had two of the items I'd ordered missing along with one item I'd not requested and the fried breakfast was delivered at the same time as my porridge and accompanied by the waiter asking 'Oh did you want the porridge first?'.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a short family break with our autistic son. The hotel was within a short walk of Gunwharf and the sea walk was lovely in the sun. The staff in the hotel/reception were very friendly and attentive and catered for any additional needs instantly. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable. The breakfast was a very varied buffet style, hot food was cooked well and still hot. The waiter could have cracked a smile but he was very efficient so no real complaints. Overall our stay went very well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJulieJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing