We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
582 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Excellent Premier Inn”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was faultless, everything was clean and tidy and staff were friendly. The room overlooked the Solent with good views of the busy shipping traffic. There was limited free parking on site and a large pay car park nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    274
    127
    43
    22
See reviews for
249
321
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed the night recently at Premier Inn Southsea great position facing the sea the staff were helpful and very friendly, the breakfast next morning was excellent eat as much as you like, good area for walking by the sea or into Gunwharf Quays, would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A true seafront hotel with amusement park on its doorstep, the bedroom in this hotel was remarkably quiet. Typical Premier Inn layout, for some reason it was very busy during our weekend visit, particularly the restaurant. Perhaps it was the February sun that made an appearance !

The staff were very helpful and managed to store our large amount of luggage after it was time to check-out. They offered information and advice on where to visit, with directions.

It is possible for those who are fit enough to walk into the town centre (without luggage) or along the esplanade towards the aquarium. The hovercraft terminal is close by and we enjoyed watching it and the ferries sailing past as the sun set.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned after a 5 day break at southsea the weather was rubbish but it didnt matter such a welcoming place to stay, Special thanks to all the staff & especially Jasmine in the restaurant.

Chris. Devon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from our four day break at Southsea, we return here at least twice a year because -
the staff are wonderful (helpful and welcoming) the location is good (we can leave the car and walk everywhere) , a variety of restaurants nearby. The only downside as far as we are concerned- and I notice we are not the only ones to notice this- is that in the summer in particular - the locals use the car park as a free place to park and sometimes if you arrive late you have to pay to use the public park, which is why we do not move the car while we are there and also try to get there early on our first day

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pros:
clean spacious room
comfy bed
clean functioning bathroom
attractive park area and front nearby
lots of restaurants and the centre and university in easy walking distance
pleasant walk to Gunwharf Quays and the historic dockyard, D Day museum etc.
Helpful staff - as ever I have found that while it is tricky to get through the automated barriers with which Premier Inn sorrounds itself, once you do and find a real person those people are so nice and helpful - happy to call taxis, supply maps and directions..
Parking (limited)
Very handy for some of the ferries

Cons (note - some of these may rank as Pros if you are after different experiences to the ones we like!)
Restaurant has a ball pool area
Public areas tired and a bit shabby
No air con
Right next (and I mean RIGHT NEXT) to a funfair and v close to the pier)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank listmaker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe,England.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay (20th Feb),good location by the sea,10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants at Gunwharf Quays.The ajoining pub was good for breakfast and a drink in the evening.
The staff were very pleasant and i had no trouble parking,a couple of negatives hence not full marks,my room had a tiny window and faced the roof of the pub and the heating in the room and the corridors just wasnt up to the job and made the building feel cold.
But overall ok and i would stay again if in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing