We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned after a 5 day break at southsea the weather was rubbish but it didnt matter such a welcoming place to stay, Special thanks to all the staff & especially Jasmine in the restaurant.

Chris. Devon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 848 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from our four day break at Southsea, we return here at least twice a year because -
the staff are wonderful (helpful and welcoming) the location is good (we can leave the car and walk everywhere) , a variety of restaurants nearby. The only downside as far as we are concerned- and I notice we are not the only ones to notice this- is that in the summer in particular - the locals use the car park as a free place to park and sometimes if you arrive late you have to pay to use the public park, which is why we do not move the car while we are there and also try to get there early on our first day

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pros:
clean spacious room
comfy bed
clean functioning bathroom
attractive park area and front nearby
lots of restaurants and the centre and university in easy walking distance
pleasant walk to Gunwharf Quays and the historic dockyard, D Day museum etc.
Helpful staff - as ever I have found that while it is tricky to get through the automated barriers with which Premier Inn sorrounds itself, once you do and find a real person those people are so nice and helpful - happy to call taxis, supply maps and directions..
Parking (limited)
Very handy for some of the ferries

Cons (note - some of these may rank as Pros if you are after different experiences to the ones we like!)
Restaurant has a ball pool area
Public areas tired and a bit shabby
No air con
Right next (and I mean RIGHT NEXT) to a funfair and v close to the pier)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank listmaker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay (20th Feb),good location by the sea,10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants at Gunwharf Quays.The ajoining pub was good for breakfast and a drink in the evening.
The staff were very pleasant and i had no trouble parking,a couple of negatives hence not full marks,my room had a tiny window and faced the roof of the pub and the heating in the room and the corridors just wasnt up to the job and made the building feel cold.
But overall ok and i would stay again if in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lufc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, clean rooms, convenient for Hovercraft to IOW. Sea views. Gunwharf Quays and Spinnaker Tower within walking distance. Very friendly helpful staff especially Lydia on Reception. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Premier Inn, Southsea is conveniently located close to the beach, seaside facilities and historic portsmouth. It has its own parking and attached Brewers Fayre pub/restaurant. We arrived on a chilly February evening to find that the heating had been put on for us making for a comfortable welcome. The staff were cheery and service prompt. Food is served until 9pm but the bar remains open later. Views from the bar are over the entrance to Portsmouth harbour and the Solent, rooms with a sea view are popular but it is worth asking for one if you are staying long. We used this hotel for a stopover en route to catch an early morning ferry to France. We found breakfast available from 06:30 but check for availability when booking as times vary at weekends. We were there on a Sunday evening and managed to book online well in advance getting a bargain room for £29.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a quiet road but is next to an amusement arcade. In summer it can get busy. If quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent along time 7 years ago staying here. I was working down that way last week and had to stay overnight in or around Portsmouth. I booked in to see if they was as good as they was 7 years ago. They are!! The food was nicely cooked, the room was overlooking the sea and with all the ships and boats going by was never boring. The room was fine and warm. The staff get 100% for making your stay injoyable. Even one of the bar staff reconised me after all that time.
So to sum up. If you want a Premier TI that looks after you / cares Then stay here.

Room Tip: Book early as it is a great place to stay and it is often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $67 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing