We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights, main purpose of visit was to visit two lots of relatives, one in Ryde IOW and the other in Portsmouth, so we chose this hotel for convenience - the Hovercraft goes from round the corner and the Portsmouth address was within walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, and coped with the complete loss of the computer system with admirable calm! Luckily the rooms operate with ordinary keys, not sure what would have happened with a card system in the circumstances. The beds were comfortable and the room well sound-proofed, could not hear sounds outside despite being very close to the funfair and ferries and Hovercrafts (if you open the window you can hear the passenger announcements on the ferries, but nothing otherwise). We luckily got a car park place and didn't move the car until we left. The restaurant is OK (three nights probably the most you would want). The historic dockyard attractions are a short walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 836 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Long weekend - marathon on the Sunday and attractions of Portsmouth. Well located, bus stop within yards or about 15 min walk to Portmouth Hard/Spinnaker/shops/Victory - or similar to city centre.
Had sea view at rear, overlooked the fun fair (closed in December) could see the ferries and just about hear the nearby hovercraft.The fun fair would probably be quite noisey when open.
Car park was ok for us, parked Sat and din not move car until leaving on Monday - the council car parks are very expensive - not sure what happens if the Premier car park was full.
The Premier was as expected,clean and tidy - a full sized bath,room soon warmed once heating on - friendly staff.
.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHWMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

As usual the Premier Inn lived up to its reputation. Stayed here for the first time and chose it on price. (An offer running for the date we needed) Parking is the problem. Plan to arrive early and do not leave your space if you manage to get one. We were late and nearly had to stay on the council car park for £10.00 overnight!!!! The night porter was magic, and found us a space foc.
Did not rate the Chef and Brewer. Restaurant closes at 9.00pm. Food was motorway standard, but filling. For convenience we would definitely use again. Staff were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepee561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Standard Premier Inn experience.
One of the reasons that I stay at Premier Inns is the free Wifi. It didn't work at this site, but the paid for service was fine!
Probably wont use again as there are other Premier Inns nearby that are easier to get to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful,the room was clean but cold however once we switched on the radiator it soon warmed up. The bathroom was clean but no heated towel rail. The shower is average and not of the power variety. Breakfast is the only meal that I can say about and it was excellent, the coffee was the best I've had in a hotel. I looked at the menu out of interest and think that there was something for anybody. All in all a good place to stay but I wonder what the noise value outside would be in the summer as there are amusement arcades nearby.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you will have to ask. The other side is a view over the rugby pitches consequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryBGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn at Southsea, Portsmouth, as it gave us easy access to the excellent shopping in the city and is a great hotel for the money. The staff were charming and helpful - the restaurant was very good and overall we were very pleased with our stay. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The room was spotless and the receptionist friendly and helpful. The view out of the window was of a roof! We stayed in November and it was very quiet, however I would imagine it could be noisy in the summer as it is next to a fun fair/crazy golf etc. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as cooked. We were a bit miffed that it cost us £2 each more to book breakfast online with our room than booking it when we got there. Nice walks along the seafront watching the big ferries coming in and a good view of the Spinnaker tower. Car parking is free in a small underground car park, but is on a first come first served basis. We went out in the evening and had to park on the side of the road when we returned as the car park was then full.

Room Tip: check to see if it is cheaper to book breakfast when you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,034 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $72 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing