We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from $17.70
More Info
from $12.90
More Info
from $44.30
More Info
Reviews (2,198)
Filter reviews
2,105 results
Traveler rating
1,575
467
53
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,575
467
53
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room well worth a visit restored ship gun deck iron clad amazing ship historic dockyard steep steps interesting visit answer questions great visit top deck audio guide piece of history royal navy mary rose board
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,105 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

HMS Warrior stands to the left as you enter the historic dockyard in Portsmouth and it's amazing that it has survived. When built in 1860 as the first metal-hulled battleship she was invincible. Take a tour inside and you will see the huge steam-driven engines and coal bunkers that kept these going as well as many weapons, cannons etc. Sadly she fell into decay and twice was offered for sale with no buyers. However, restored in Hartlepool in the 1980's she now looks splendid and a fitting tribute to when Britannia ruled the waves!

Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

A wonderful experience. Very large and impressive. Interesting that it was never seen in action - a real deterrent ! Well positioned, even for photos from the outside. Do not miss !

Thank ronlawmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visit Saturday 10/11/18 and was a nice visit, the ship is undergoing some works but most of the ship you can get at. You are free to roam the ship at your leisure. The kids loves the guns, cannons etc. It’s a eye opener seeing how the crew loves those many years ago, small beds, small baths etc. If you like history and naval history then it’s worth the visit.

Thank A4364FDmattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A real gem of british naval history and the story behind the ship and its conception makes it unique. the ship that marked the end of the age of sail. well worth the visit and lots to see. Buy a guidebook to understand and appreciate what you see though.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was a good day out however there is lots of walking, steep stairs and low beams. my partner enjoyed it alot more than i did. but i would return as we didnt get all of the attractions done.

Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went on to HMS Warrior while visiting the Historic Dockyards. It is a ship with an interesting history and has been very well restored and preserved. There's also a little shop on board. Well worth looking around when in Portsmouth.

Thank martyblack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This really brings home how difficult life was on board a ship in those days. Not having any space; hammocks wherever they could fit them; and cannons/dining tables on close quarters. Even though the HMS Victory never saw battle, it’s an impressive ship to wander round.

Thank catrionah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Massive ship, did not know anything about it till our visit.
Really well restored and a pleasant surprise to our trip to the docks.

Thank 829apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were told by friends to be sure to visit here (not only the Victory). So glad we did. It was interesting, and the personnel was helpful when we had a question. We learned so much, and my husband was thrilled to see this vessel.

Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Can't complain at this. Beautiful ship, friendly staff with lots of knowledge. Enjoyed an hour or so hereafter would highly recommend.

Thank 909gavinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews