We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to stay with parking”
Review of Ferry House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferry House Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Place to stay with parking”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We needed to be in Portsmouth and decided to make it a weekend break to visit the historic dockyard. Chose this hotel as it had free car parking, important in Portsmouth as that saved us about £10 on the day and was a 20 minute stroll to the dockyard. As people have mentioned the area is a little dowdy and it is close to the main road, make sure you dont miss the turn if using satnav, dont be tempted to go over the fly over stay on the level road to the roundabout. On arrive we have a very warm welcome and the young lady at reception was most helpful providing a free map and instructions on how to walk to the dockyard. The rooms are all newly refurbished and ours number 3 was just perfect for a one night stay, any longer and the shortage of drawer space may be an issue. The ensuite bathroom is why this review does not get five stars - beautiful it is but the shower promised much but delivered a weak flow of luke warm water until after about five minutes when the water temp improved. Additionally the heated towel rail is too close to the loo and as there is no apparant way to turn it off presents a hazard from the heat of it on your leg. . Mentioned this to staff at breakfast. The bed matress was good quality very comfortable, however the bedding was average quality, but what I expected from a bed and breakfast. And to breakfast the most important meal of the day and the full english was of good quality, hot and more than enough to take us through to late afternoon teatime.

All in all great place, more quiet than I thought it would be super breakfast and free parking we paid £70 for the Saturday night which was top end for B and B but the location was just what we were looking for and the quality of the room represented good value for money.

Room Tip: Only saw number three but this was really quiet with comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
21
56
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Found the staff helpful and friendly. I was in room 2 which was fine apart from 3 doors to go through and a separate key for each. Free wifi was good and fast enough. Short walk to town was nearer 15 mins rather than 10. Lovely breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights here. The location is not the best, but is easy to get in and out of Portsmouth and is about as close as you can get to the ferry port. Not the most inspiring of buildings but does have a large free car park.
Once inside the door though your £50 B & B room suddenly becomes 5 star. The welcome and decor surpass many a 5 star hotel I have stayed in. My room was very comfortable and the en-suite immaculate. Breakfast on both mornings was very good.
Value for money, you will have to go a long way to beat this

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulLawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Booked this hotel a with a BB rate of £50 and that's what I expected.How wrong can you be. From the warm and friendly greeting on arrival this hotel eceds your expectations on every level. The room was very well presented with all the little extras you expect in larger hotels. The quality of the bedding was a cut above the norm and the bathroom was possibly the cleanest that I have ever come across.So already we are pretty pleased. Despite the location just off the main route into Portsmouth traffic noise was never an issue and I had a great nights sleep Breakfast was served in an lighty and airy dining room. Full selection of branded cereals,juice etc. I chose to have the English breakfast. Freshly cooked and very well presented.I left feeling that I had just had a great deal in a place that is from my experience very under priced. This is a great place to stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knutsfordexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poitiers
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Ferry House Lodge is five minutes drive from the ferry port, we found it to be clean,comfortable with staff who waited for us to check in as the ferry had been delayed and could not have been more helpful.A hearty full
english breakfast,excellent value for money,highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slwPoitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for two nights and because of a mixup got an upgrade to Premier room. I would have happily slept in the bathroom it was that big and the walk in Rainhead shower was glorious.
Breakfast was fresh, hot and plentiful and with tons of parking was perfect. Town is a 10 minute walk where there is a large shopping area.
If I had one gripe it was that my bathroom didnt have a door, maybe I am a bit old fasioned but if I had my wife or kids there it would have made life a little uncomfortable.
Kate managed the hotel very well and as others have said nothing was too much bother. I am already planning my next weekend away (with the wife and kids) and will definately stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifeboatbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Booked at fairly short notice. Room was immaculate. Staff very helpful. Substantial breakfast. Discovered that a couple of rooms are available for dog to stay. Owners have obviously worked very hard to get the place up to a very good standard. Don't be put off by the fact that the place is in an odd location near large block of flats. Plenty of parking - free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Lodge

Property: Ferry House Lodge
Address: 472 Mile End Road, Portsmouth PO2 7BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite the international ferry port, our 12 bedroom B&B boasts all en-suite rooms, free parking and Wi-Fi and a delicious cooked or continental breakfast. Newly refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferry House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing