We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here with hubby 19 month and myself.

the room was very clean and all the staff couldnt do enough for us. they had even put a travel cat up for us that i hadnt asked for!. there were also little touches such as nappy sacks.

we ate in the restaurant for £22 per person which is for 3 courses a drink and breakfast the following day. hubby had the steak and said it was the best he had had in a long time! i had the fish and chips which was average really.

we went to the beefeater across the road and i wouldnt recommend this as a place to eat it looked very run down.

the hotel is in an excellent location just off the motorway and i didnt hear any noise at all.

i would def recommend this hotel and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived late on the evening and received a warm welcome from the receptionist on duty. We were staying for just one night before an early ferry crossing the next day. We were given a very helpful map showing directions to the ferry port, a nice touch and unexpected. The room was up to the usual Premier Inn high standards and the bed super comfortable. We left early so couldn't partake of breakfast. The hotel is a great choice if you are catching a ferry from town, we found it to be comfortable, convenient and represented good value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank taylors_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we stayed here this weekend as my football team walsall were playing portsmouth,when we got to the hotel on a retail park i thought oh no we are in the middle of nowhere with no nightlife!! but after talking to jordon the hotel manager for a few mins he told us that the marina which was about 20 mins walk away had plenty of bars and eateries, we have stayed at a couple of premier inns and they are all much of a muchness, the only difference is the staff, and the staff here are great nothing is to much trouble and all are jolly and willing to help or give you any info about the area,the bed was large and comfy the room was spotless and the breakfasts!! well every time we go they seem to have added something else like muffins and crumpets and even more fresh fruit choices, after showering we went to reception to ask how to get to the marina and was told we could either walk 20 mins or taxi £3.50, we chose the taxi as my wife had high heels on, we were shown to a free phone that went direct to the taxi company and he was there in about 5 mins, be sure to get the exit code for the driver,he took us to the marina and we were pleasantly surprised there was a cinema, shops, mexican, indian, chinese, italian, harvester and a wetherspoons as well as some indipendant restaurants, we chose to eat at oh so meo? i think that's what it was called, because the restaurant we wanted to eat at called the watermark was fully booked, and if you did want to eat there on a weekend then it would be advisable to pre book,we were lucky to get a table at the italian, the food (apart from the ministrone soup, i have had better cup-a-soups) was gorgeous, my wife likes pizza but not the traditional thin and crispy, so he made it with 2 bases to make it thicker, and i had the spaghetti with clams and king prawns, we also had patte and garlic and cheese breads, with 2 glasses of wine and an archers and lemonade the bill came to £52, the owner is an artist and has his pictures plastered all over the place all with price tags on them, we did comment on them and he tried to sell us one but at between £100-£200 i thought was a bit pricey but he did tell us he had won awards for his paintings, on the second night we went to wetherspoons and found the drinks very inexpencive, then went to the chinese called the dragon marina, as the dishes were a little on the pricey side we opted for the buffet menu at £21 each, all the food was cooked to order and bought to the table within about 5 mins of ordering, a lot better than standing in large tin bowls for hours on end,we had crispy duck,chicken and sweetcorn soup,spring rolls,chicken satay,sweet and sour chicken, beef curry and boiled rice, everything was lovely and with a beer and archers and lemonade the bill came to £48, then a taxi back to the hotel at £4.50, we also went to the historic dockyard and that was just fantastic, the warrior, nelsons flagship the victory, the boat trip round the harbour, the mary rose museum and so much more all for £21, and because we had only got about 4 hours on the saturday to go round before we went to the football, the ticket is valid for 12 months so we spent the sunday there as well what fantastic value and well worth it so that these people can look after our history, all in all a fantastic weekend, and we won 2-1 lol

Room Tip: we always have a top floor room so that there is no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I where greated by friendly helpful staff who obviously take pride in their environment. The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The only concern was the price, however we booked late and I would assume had I booked earlier the price would have been better. All in all very happy with the stay and would definately stay again. I travel a lot between the UK and Spain and if I use the Britanny ferries route I would use this hotel due to the localization to the port. Great experience made our weekend a very pleasant one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robza_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here before visit to navel dockyard. Comfortable beds children and adults clean and tidy, price reasonable price for time of year.
Breakfast included was good and comprehensive.
Would come again.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here before travelling to Spain by Ferry. Good location about 2 minutes walk to a large Tesco and next to a Pizza Hut and another chain restaurant, I think KFC. There is a nice marina at Port Solent which is surrounded by restaurants and pubs, we ate at Zizzi. The marina is about 20mins walk or 5 mins drive. There is also a cinema if you need to fill a couple of hours. The hotel is about a 10min drive into Portsmouth and the ferry port. The hotel room was very spacious , we had a family room which was great even with the extra bed. Very clean and tidy with almost everything we needed including trouser press, a safe in the room would be even better. However the noise of the traffic is prevented us from having a peaceful night even my husband who is a sound sleeper couldn't sleep. If you stay here ask for a room on the other side to the road. It was so loud I got up to check that the windows were close. I have stayed in hotels in city centres that have managed to sound proof the rooms so why doesn't this hotel do the same. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable selection of foods, the staff were polite and efficient. We complained about the noise and our money was refunded. Next time I will book the Marriott which is next door as I really like the location. The photo Tripadvisor is displaying is not the hotel but a pub next door.

Room Tip: Only stay at this hotel if you can have a room overlooking the car park and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Whilst the hotel is convenient clean and friendly, how can they justify over a £100 a night EXCLUDING Breakfast and Internet acces. It's typical Premier inn, it's clean it is ok, it's just not worth the 5 star prices.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks for your feedback.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time.

Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $60 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing