We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel bad writing this but....”
Review of Feed Cafe

Feed Cafe
Ranked #62 of 661 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The original breakfast and burger company - Originally Feed cafe serving breakfast & hot meals until 4pm. After researching, tasting and being a few stone larger, FEED has found its perfect gourmet burger recipe. After lots of DIY, new furniture & decorating, the first burger was produced and doors opened on the 19th of May 2014. With a simple quality focused menu, FEED has not massively deviated from its original approach - The best honest burgers and breakfast. The Breakfast Company serves English, American & Continental Breakfasts. The Burger Company serves an amazing range of Beef, Chicken & Vegetarian burgers, Fries, Nachos & Dogs.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I feel bad writing this but....”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My fiance was desperate to try this place after seeing the reviews here on TripAdvisor and the picture of the humongous breakfast. We arrived quite early, so we were the only ones in the cafe to start with, but this was nice before it started to get busier!

The cafe has nice simple decor, with an open kitchen. We both ordered breakfast with an Isle of Wight sausage. I asked if I could swap my beans for another sausage - which they were more than happy to do.

The coffee was freshly ground and the breakfasts came quickly. Sausage, bacon, fried egg, tomato, mushrooms, toast, beans and cubed fried potatoes - these were great!!

We both agreed that we were a bit disappointed about the IoW sausage quality; it was basically a larger version of the cheap bargain sausages that you get. We also felt that the bill (£20 for two breakfasts and three coffees) was a little steep for the quality of the food - however you can't quibble about the portion sizes.

In summary the portion sizes were brill, however the price did not match the quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camels_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    70
    16
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Class All day " Builders Breakfast”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great Value , far better and cheaper then the Cafe at the Bus Station on the Hard.
Food is cooked fresh and tastes great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unsure”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went to Feed last weekend before a trip to London.
The menu is extensive, they seem to have been to competitors as a lot of their menu is similar! I ordered a Ham Hock Wrap but was advised they had run out of that, ribs and a number of other things on the menu - I ended up with the breakfast, which was nice, the profile picture does not do this establishment justice! However, my breakfast was served on a plastic skillit - not sure if I like this mimic?

Staff were inoffensive, not particularly friendly but not rude,

I will return again as can't say it was awful but expected a lot more from the reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely awesome breakfast with the cosy homie feel attached to it”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

you gotta come here and have the full english. What is really amazing about this place is that the portion is just about right, and the staff are absolutely brilliant, whatever time you walk in on a sunday morning, ha there you are, a big smile welcomes you and sits you down. And no brainer its full english !!! all the locals eat here, and you chat over whatever you fancy and I promise you will learn something interesting. Try it out when you are down here next, you would love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding service at breakfast time”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We got sick of eating rubbish breakfast at Holiday Inn Express in Gunwharf so decided to give Feed a go about 9 month ago........and what a great choice it was.

The breakfast in here is amazing and good value too, they also take credit cards so if you are away on business it makes claiming expenses easier.

Another thing to add is the staff, they always make you feel welcome and the service is very fast and courteous. Free parking over road if you get lucky otherwise a trip to the parking meter is advisable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCorner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feed Cafe also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Feed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing