We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot stagnant air resulted in a very uncomfortable evening!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Theatre

The Kings Theatre
Ranked #25 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Hot stagnant air resulted in a very uncomfortable evening!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went along to see our child perform in a production with several other schools on the 14th July 2014, who were all great and put on a wonderful show.

The theatre itself looks OK if not a little dated (paint peeling, limited legroom and sticky sideboards in the bar for example) but I would described it as having character had these been the only issues.

The main problem with the theatre was that after we were all seated it started to get very hot and the air quality was terrible. The person sat behind me actually got a nose bleed and just about everyone in ear shot of us was commenting on how hot and uncomfortable it was.

I'm not sure that I would return to the Kings Theatre and I certainly wouldn't in the summer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    79
    23
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historical gem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went to see Seven Brides. The choreography was breathtaking, athletic and gymnastic. The theatre has had some much needed tidying, up repainting etc. Now it is starting to get top shows once more. Excellent

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hammie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Studio delight”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Went to a superb one-man show by Jeffrey Holland - studio set-up on stage. Enjoyed the intimacy but also liked what I saw of the theatre on the way in. Would go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tommy”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a wonderful old theatre this is, with so much happening in its future. We saw Tommy the musical by CCADS, what a truly brilliant night we had. And a standing ovation no less for a very energetic cast and crew.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you get chance to see a show in this theatre, do!!!!!!! The decor of this theatre is amazing. A real beauty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronella_de_vil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Theatre also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Kings Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing