We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air in portsmouth restaurant scene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chambers

The Chambers
Ranked #17 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air in portsmouth restaurant scene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner for the first time last night. Four of us, the most impressive dish was the fruits de mer, I have not seen anything like this in Portsmouth before in any restaurant considering we are by the sea. The quality of the other dishes was excellent. We had a couple of issues with the service and the management was very understandable, apologetic and took our comments on board ( they were short of staff). The decor of the place is second to none. Absolutely recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    178
    105
    46
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PORTSMOUTH
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Breakfast That Nearly Turned In To Lunch "”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Breakfast was very nice, but waiting nearly 45 mins it nearly turned into lunch, this was around 11.00am, but on a important note I would return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTIN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A victim of its own success”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

evening at the restaurant. On the previous occasion I and my dining companions had been suitably impressed. So we had high expectations on this most recent visit. Sadly, we were disappointed with the whole experience. The initial complaint I have is that it is just too congested, of course I can understand that any business needs to maximise its profits, but it was so crammed it made the atmosphere seem somewhat repressive. The second disappointment was the food, I have to admit that my personal experience was good, the steak was well cooked and my starter was tasty (although I’m not quite sure how it could have been considered to be a goats cheese tart, and there were also no caramelised red onions). However, the majority of the other diners had complaints with their meal. Over cooked was a general consensus and a few had issues with the Spartan portion sizes. The service was friendly if a little haphazard, and due to the busyness of the restaurant it was a little on the slow side. There was also an issue with the drinks, a few members of our party were told that heir first choice of drink were not available (lemonade?) and the beer when served was flat (pint) and un-chilled (bottled), when the warmness of the beer was pointed out to a waitress, we were rebuffed with an albeit upbeat answer that “we’re too busy”.
Sadly it seems that within a month or so, the restaurant is suffering from its own success. By all means go and experience ‘The Chambers’ for yourself, but I suggest that there are better places to eat within the same price range.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Powermonkey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had breakfast here on a Saturday morning - excellent full english and eggs benedict - great value as well and a pleasant clubby atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank listmaker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I took my mum and step-dad for sunday lunch.

We had a nice table in the upstairs (its like a tardis) and enjoyed a great sunday dining experience. The service was maybe teh best I have had the luxury of enjoying in Portsmouth. the waitress was accommodating towards my slightly senile Mum and the waiter/host dealt with an issue with gravy on her plate exceptionally well - having a fresh plate brought out.

The roast itself was the best I have had in Portsmouth.. and good roasts are hard to come by in my book.

Would heartily recommend for sunday lunch..

and definitely, DEFINITELY have some cake!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chambers also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing